Advertisement

Woodland Baptist Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Winston-Salem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2007

Woodland is an awesome school. I love the education my child is getting. My child has been at Woodland for 4 years and loves every day at school. The teachers are special people and the truly love the students. It is the best Christian school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

I highly recommend WBCS it has been a real blessing to me as a parent of 3 I have 2 in the school. Biblical values are very important to my husband and I. This is a very caring faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

My daughter goes to Woodland and has for all but 2 years of her life. She loves the school, the teachers and so do I. I love the fact that the teachers take the time to help and get to know the children and encourage them in every way academically and Biblically. Woodland has great sports and club activities for the kids as well. The principal and Pastor Tim Gammons are great leaders. I will never have to worry about my daughter while she is at school. Thanks to everyone for the great job that you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

As a parent of a young lady at WBCS, we really like the instructors, biblical values, fellowship for my daughter and soccer, basketball & volleyball. WBCS is a fantastic educational & Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

As a parent, I like the family atmosphere at Woodland. Teachers take a personal interest in their students. The office staff, led by the principal and assistant principal, are professional and caring people who are willing to sit down with parents and students to discuss any concerns. Coaches work to have each player develop character, as well as athletic skills. WBCS is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

I have three children enrolled in this school. One is a senior, one a sophomore and the last is a prekidnergardner. I have had experience with every age group from pre-K to senior and find this to be a caring, understanding school. The principal is sympathetic and understanding with the children and relates so well with them, yet he is also a firm disciplinarian. I get great comfort from the knowlege that my children are achieving high academic learning while being taught Biblical principles and the morals, which is so needed in our society. I want my children to be more than citizens. I want them to make a difference in their communities. At this school, they learn just that. I am proud to be a supporting parent as well as a former student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

The school, principal and teachers are excellent. It's like having a great big family outside of church. Everyone is helpful and friendly and do everything possible to help your child succeed. If anyone is think about private school verses public this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2004

WBCS is the greatest school in the Triad area. I would recommend WBCS to all parents who desire a Christ-centered education. The school staff is committed to giving the best care and education to each student. The standards are Biblically based and administered with compassion and fairness. The students are able to get to know their teachers and parents find the staff available and helpful. An added plus for the school is the ability of students to participate in sports, fine arts and clubs. This produces a well rounded person who is able to face the world with success. In addition, chapel services and Bible classes present Biblical truth and application. WBCS is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2004

Woodland is an amazing school. They teach good Christian values and it provides a close knit family atmosphere. The teachers do an excellent job in getting your children ready for college. The teachers and coaches there really care about the students and athletes. It is well run and God is the center of that school. The new principal and his family are amazing people and show that they really do care about the school, student body, faculty and staff. I would recommend it to any family!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 22, 2003

WBCS is a great school with a caring principal and office staff. The teachers go the extra mile to help students be successful. The standards are great, the students can be involved in many activities and the school is a family. I would recommend the school to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 53%
Hispanic 4% 11%
Black 3% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Steve Holley
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (336) 767-9116

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1175 Bethania Rural Hall Road
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 969-2088

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Northwest Middle
Winston-Salem, NC


Gibson Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC


Forsyth Academy
Winston-Salem, NC


North Forsyth High
Winston-Salem, NC


Rural Hall Elementary
Rural Hall, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT