Advertisement

Summit School

Private | PK-9

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Winston-Salem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2010

I went to Summit . . . there was really never any other choice that my kids go there too. This is the best school around. It appreciates art , diversity, and creativity and best of all it does not test our kids to death.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Summit School excels in arts and technology. Its facilities and equipment are excellent. Elementary aged children have more hands-on learning opportunities plus the benefit of small class size and more focused instruction. Middle school is stagnant. Academic rigor is lacking and classroom instruction is uncommonly casual. The administration, especially this school year, often gives a rote 'we're working on it' response to parental concerns about core academics. In the balance hangs the question of whether our children will excel at the (competitive) high school level. Summit School is a wonderful place and it excels in most areas, but there is still room for improvement. While the hefty tuition all but guarantees a friendly, welcoming, all-inclusive campus atmosphere, it does not ensure that your child will receive the very best academic instruction (comparatively speaking).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

I attended Summit School from Pre-kindergarden through graduating 9th grade. I would say simply that Summit taught me how to learn. The atmosphere was always warm and encouraging, personal, and at all times put a high level of value on Liberal Arts education (including giving a speech in the auditorium to the upper school as a requisite for graduation). The facilities have been improved in the years since I have visited and I trust the same dedication to student and charge remains in the faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2009

Our son has been at Summit since Jr-Kindergarten and will be a rising 6th grader next fall. The teachers are available to students and parents. There are extraordinary learning adventures (both on and off campus) and every child is reminded what a gift their Summit experience is. A new arts and technology center and new dining room will open in Fall 2009. Parents are very involved and have helped to raise additional funds to help the building campaign. The new head is great and has helped to push Summit into the 21st century. It is one of the most expensive schools in the state but worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

We have one child at Summit. The school is a child's dream. Tons of hands on lessons, a design center, wonderful library, PE almost everyday in addition to recess. Summit has a truly spectacular library and for the lower grades a dining hall that serves very healthy, global cuisine. The major negative is the tuition. It has increased each year by a large amount. Financial aid is limited to a certain few and there are no sibling discounts. Scholarships would also be nice. Otherwise great school if you can afford it or want to live a very modest life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I have two children at Summit and the school is wonderful. The teachers and other staff are terrific. My children are very happy. The staff works hard to reach each individual child. The guidance staff does a great job creating programs to teach the children about kindness and many other important virtues on a monthly basis. There are many wonderful extras like drama, studing insects or plants in one of the many on-site gardens, an excellent music program, band (beginning in 3rd grade), French and Spanish (beginning in the 4 yr old program), an off-site Pioneer Day (3rd grade), an off-site Native American Day (2nd grade), Pottery and lots of other art and so, so much more. Unfortunately, we have to move our kids because of the high tuition. We will miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Reynolda Rd
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Phone: (336) 722-2777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Children's Center
Winston-Salem, NC


Whitaker Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC




Paisley Magnet School
Winston-Salem, NC


St. Leo Catholic School
Winston-Salem, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT