Advertisement

Winston Salem Christian School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Winston-Salem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

This is by far the best school around! They have such a true love for our children and a passion for teaching! I can't imagine going anywhere else. Our son loves the entire school, each teacher knows and speaks to him each time they see him. The staff get to know each child and checks on them as they go from one grade to the next. It's a very warm and loving place. I have found that they are far more advanced than the public schools which makes me so happy. They now have the new STEM lab which is outstanding. I just can say enough about this school and the teachers. It's worth each and every penny and then some! I love that God is in his every day life at school. They teach to have respect, love and kindness for others and always carry God in your heart! I am proud of the way these children are being taught and to see how they have grown and act with such a beautiful heart. Thank you for being such a wonderful school. I know our son with graduate from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Our child attended this school for kindergarten and first grade. We tried the public school system for the 2nd grade because we live in a great school district. However, after being at such a great school you realize what your child is missing. WSCS is far ahead academically! The environment promotes respect and love which cannot be matched. The overall experience is a blessing for the children. Worth every penny!!! New administration is on the right path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

This school is very interactive and they are excellent in everything from academics to athletics. My daughter was in a special math group this year and she loved it. I think this is a nice school to put your child in this year they added a 12th grade and the early learning center is from 3 months to 5 years old I like this school alot


Posted June 12, 2013

Teachers are great, but the administration is severely lacking. They are not visible within the school and hide behind their desks. For a small school, is does not have any warmth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

I love First Assembly Preschool (FAPS)!! The teachers are great and caring they truly love their students and develop a loving bond with them. They instill the love of God, education and community into their lives. The director of the preschool is very involved and checks on all the classes and knows every childs name and remebers them as they move on. The preschoolers get computer time, arts and craft, they learn science and have a different theme every week. Wow, there are so many other events where parents are involved I could go on and on. Pleases stop in and visit you would love it and everyone is friendly! I PLAN ON HAVING my son attend until he graduates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

I LOVE this school! My daughter has learned so much and is becoming a very well rounded individual. The teachers are amazing and loving. Academics are extremely important and so is their relationship with God. This group of kids are extremely well mannered and will make a difference in this world. Worth every penny spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

A wonderful athletic program with a top-notch coach who teaches volleyball with skill, patience, dedication and a love for the game. Most of the teachers and first rate, but not all. The principal is a very non-judgmental, kind and knowledgeable person, who serves well. The administrator is, well, the administrator. One review comments on being over-zealous concerning religion, and I totally agree. It can get to be a turnoff for some students and parents...perhaps they need to 'live' it more and 'talk about it less.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

The character of many of the middle school students leaves much to be desired. The teachers need to work on character education more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

It's a good school. They don't necessarily focus on academic excellence, but more along the lines of athletics and religion. Sometimes they can be a little over-zealous about religion, but it is a Christian school, so that's to be expected. Their athletic department is the most proficient. The principal is the coach of many of the sports, and most often, when he coaches, they win and place fist in the tournaments. The P.E. teacher is more than qualified, and is great with the kids. It is still a good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2005

My daughter attends First Assembly and loves to go to school. She loves the teachers, the staff, and most of all Chapel. These children not only gain a great education, they also gain a solid moral and spiratual well-being that will help them through the rest of their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Our daughter has been in this school for 3 years and absolutely loves it. She loves her teachers, and she loves to learn! This school provides a wonderful learning environment, both academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 53%
Black 30% 32%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3730 University Parkway
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 759-7762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit School
Winston-Salem, NC


North Hills Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC


Children's Center
Winston-Salem, NC


Kimberley Park Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT