Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Middle

Public | 6-8 | 1230 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 8, 2012

To the parent from Virginia with a student at Jefferson Middle School: I acknowledge the validity of most of your points (especially the morning traffic -- you need to be on traffic duty to see just how crazy people can be). However, I take exception to your point about the district's choice plan. (You said, "a real lack of diversity" and "letting parents pick and choose their district.") A teacher in WSFCS for ten years and a parent with students in the system for thirty years, I have watched the district move from forced busing to neighborhood school assignment. Overnight the district re-segregated. Then the magnet program was introduced. Slowly and with great difficulty the program has turned into a strength. Plan to attend the Magnet School Fair January 5 at the Benton Convention Center. Depending on what year your student is in at Jefferson, you may want to consider moving to one of the magnet programs. At least you will have a better perspective on which high school your student may attend. All the magnet schools have a liberal visitation programs. You may tour the schools. Your student can "shadow" a student for a day partial day. The options are worth exploring.


Posted December 7, 2012

Originally from Virginia, we moved to Winston-Salem this summer and the Forsyth County Schools have been a disappointment. At Jefferson, my popular outgoing son from Va is treated rudely or ignored by the students on his AG team. Although the counselor is working hard to help resolve this issue, there is a bigger dynamic going on within this school that I believe is not so easily fixed. In the cafeteria on my son's team, there is a table of all blacks who sit separately from the whites. There is a real lack of diversity at this school and my son is not fitting in with most of the students on his team. Academically, the school is behind his school in Virginia so the the "best" rated Middle School in Winston-Salem seems to be lacking but I suppose if you know no different than you have nothing to compare your experience to. Personally, I have almost been run down by other drivers in the parking lot on several occasions and with all of the problems my son is having with the students, this school is not worth the trouble of the 15 minute or more wait to get my son to and from school. I believe letting parents pick and choose their district is harming students in Forsyth County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

I am going to this school, and i just moved here and i am a girl, Jefferson is a good place but even though it might be rated very good, its an okay school. There is barely any homework even in the AG classes and if you are in band or orchestra, you probably might be very far ahead because they start an instrument only in 6th grade, which is pretty far behind. Not many people are in orchestra though. Also if you have never heard of Wallabees, you might want to look at them because to fit with more "popular" kids in you have to have a bunch of Wallabees, Uggs, and other expensive shoes. Also Wallabees are quite ugly, and in Jefferson they actually think they look good.... which is pretty weird... but thats just my opinion. Finding friends is kind of hard when there is more than 400 kids in the whole grade. Eh... well the teachers are pretty good, and the kids are not disciplined very well, and the classrooms are very packed full of kids because they have so many.


Posted January 14, 2012

Jefferson Middle School is awesome! My son started sixth grade at Jefferson this year and has had a wonderful experience so far. The teachers care about the students and help them to be successful in school offering tutoring after school. The principal is great and he keeps parents well informed concerning school events as well as keeping track of A/B day schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

my son will soon start middle school and I have chosen this school for my son to attend. My son is zone for another midddle school, bit I have chosen this school instead. I have done researchs and find this school to be the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

The teacher there care alot about the students and keep parents up to date on everything. They always bend over backwards to see that the children get everything they need to get ahead.....saturday schooling , after school schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Jefferson is the BEST school ever!!!! when i came to TJMS my grades inproved so much i was so happy.They give us plenty of choices in sports,classes,and if youu need help the teachers are always there for you.Im glad i go t jefferson and proud to say im a patriot!!!! <3333
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

Excellent school, a little too much testing and homework in the AG classes. Quality work by the teachers, excellent staff and SRO. Glad my daughter is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

6th grade at TJMS is the BEST!!! We have some of the highest test scores in NC. I am proud to work here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 25, 2009

There is not much homework. Kids are not disciplined well. Also, there is not much technology use at all. It is far from the best middle school in the county if you ask me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

Jefferson middle is a very good school, with high expectations for their students in academics. I gave a four star to this school. Thanks to all the helpful and caring teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

As a parent this school is wonderful my son had and grate time there with the hight test scors and by far the best athleatica they win about 9 out of 10 county champs every year. Best school ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2004

Prior to our son entering middle school, we heard all of the 'woes and cons' of these upcoming years from other veteran parents. We began the year suited in our armor and ready for the challenging battles that awaited us. Our worries have been needless and our concerns few. Our son has been truly blessed with a phenomenal 'team' of dedicated, sincere, and highly qualified teachers who are guided by the most fantastic principal/assistant principal leaders. We have had personal contact with all of these fine people as well as timely, updated,and ongoing progress information. The parent/teacher communication is outstanding and most welcome since our son's ability to convey most meaningful messages to us has...temporarily lapsed! In summation, we are content and relieved, knowing that we have made the best decision for our son's 'transition years'. He feels valued, respected, and challenged. What else could anyone ask for? Heartfelt thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2004

This school has a truly wonderful and dedicated staff. My son has greatly enjoyed his first year in middle school. I give this school a rating of 5. Continue the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

Very positive feeling in the school. Good environment for learning. High use of technology.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female64%
Male63%
Black29%
Asian83%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial54%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiency39%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted94%

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male63%
Black42%
Asian50%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial75%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female74%
Male58%
Black33%
Asian-95%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial43%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically gifted95%

Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male69%
Black55%
Asian92%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students79%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male57%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students58%
Female61%
Male55%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial45%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial75%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female80%
Male86%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Academically gifted95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 52%
Black 18% 26%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Brad Royal
Fax number
  • (336) 774-4635

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Sally Kirk Road
Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 774-4630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit School
Winston-Salem, NC


Meadowlark Middle
Winston-Salem, NC


Vineyard School
Winston-Salem, NC


Calvary Baptist Day School
Winston-Salem, NC


Calvary Baptist Day School
Winston-Salem, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT