Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ward Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 705 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

Ward received 1 star because that's the lowest possible. Their solution to a child that needs extra help is to put them out. No teacher or principal support. Their Test scores are low and they only have about 18 students. If you are not called to teach please do something else because these children are our future and they should get the help they need regardless of what is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

This is our last year at Ward, and we are so sad! We transferred our kids after multiple bad experiences at another very close Clemmons elementary school. Ward was able to wash away the negatives and make the change well worth providing our own transportation. The school is fantastic in evert way, but especially the parent volunteers and multiple socials and school events. We are moving to this zone this summer to make sure we get to go tp Clemmons Middle right next door! We have friends and family who say it is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

This is a great school, especially for K-3. Lots of fun activities happening on a regular basis both academic and socially. Involved, hands-on Principal. Great playgrounds, fitness activities, awesome after-school program on site.. By far one of the best elementary schools in all of Forsyth County in a highly desirable, safe area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

This is an Outstanding School. I encourage you to go and take a tour! The students are well behaved and the teachers work so hard for your child. I have 3 children enrolled there and think it is the best! You will Love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

My child attended Marvin Ward for two years (K and 1st) and it was a total horrible experience. Bullying is a big issue at this school. It does not seem teacher have control of the problem kids here. Riding the bus is even worse, especially for small children because the big bullies will hit and curse at the small children. My child was totallly terrified to the point that I had to go to talk to the bullies parents myself because the school was not doing anything to solve the problem. They do not listen to the kids. It is a shame because this could be an otherwise pretty school to attend. All I can say is THANK GOD my child no longer attends this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

I have a kindergartener at Ward Elementary and an incredibly impressed with the teachers here. She has a wonderful teacher that keeps parents involved. I had a problem with bullying and the teacher addressed my concerns and did what she could to prevent it from happening again. The principal is very friendly to parents and students, however the vice principal is easily irritated with parents and does not like to be "bothered" by parents with concerns. As a parent, this is incredibly frustrating, as we trust this school with our children DAILY. She does not make you feel like she cares one way or another for your concerns or your child. Terribly frustrating as a parent. I have had a transportation problem that hasn't been resolved and has been going on for nearly 4 months. My child's teacher is remarkable and I couldn't ask for a better teacher. She always spends time on activities and I have really seen my child branch out and grow over the last few months. The directors/overhead leadership is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

This is a wonderful school. Especially the 5th grade "wing," it totally ROCKS! Great communication and collaboration between teachers. Lots of student support from Administrators and the Guidance Counselor (who is especially wonderful), an onsite before and after school program managed by the YMCA, plus the school itself is relatively new and is very clean and appealing. The school is always in "ship shape" and is very organized. They have a great art program, computer lab, and physical education program. They also have multiple playgrounds, tracks, fields, and the location of the school is private yet very safe. Caring, responsive teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

So glad this is my child's last year. There s a severe lack of communication with teachers and administrators and has been for years. You never know what s going on, they send menus home in the middle of the month or not at all, they deny your child the right to eat if they don't have money in their account but they don't let you know it is low or out, teachers yell at kids a lot, when you go in the school office it is like you are invisible because no one looks up and when they finally do--more like when you go stand directly in front of them and clear your throat to give them a hint--you are made to feel like you are bothering them in the office. The principal doesn t answer calls and you definitely can't reach teachers because they can't take calls (parents are told to email them), and they in general have no control over the kids. There is a lot of bullying at this school and all you are told is how they suspended the bullies. When you ask about communication like what is going on--pictures, events, etc.--you are told these things are "supposed" to be sent home every Tuesday but usually you get nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2009

This is a great school! I have read some of the other posts and I am very disappointed that people would post such negative statements about the educators that work so hard to educate your kids. I volunteer in the school several times a week and this is a great school! I have to wonder if the parents that posted such negative reviews come in and assist the teachers in helping their own kids or do they just sit back and constantly complain? Education is a hard job and it has been very eye opening to me to see what happens each day in the lives of our children. My kids have made tremendous progress. I have been kept well informed of the all the activities taking place within the school. This is a wonderful place and I hope you will visit to see the great things taking place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

This is a wonderful school with excellent teachers and adminstrators. I have 3 children there and all 3 have grown so much in there academics. I am thrilled to have them in such a safe and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

I have 1 child who has been at Ward for 2 years. I am growing more and more disappointed every day in the school. There have been multiple times that the teacher forgets to send home or email important information i.e. homework sheets. My child failed an important health screening at the beginning of the year and I was not notified at all by the nursing staff. The staff there isn't friendly either, i visit the school and am never greeted in the office when I come in, if I want someones attention I just have to stand directly in front of their desk until they decide to acknowledge me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I have three children at Ward and the name of the school fits. The day my husband and I walked into the school, at least a dozen staff and or faculty walked by and did not speak to us. If I had to do it over, I would have turned around and walked out the door. One of the assistant principals acknowledged there was a problem with the friendliness of the staff. If the administration of the school acknowledges there is an issue, how do you think they are treating the kids? My children have been miserable since they have been attending this school. I have been thoroughly disappointed by the staff at this school and would not recommend it to anyone. If you want to feel comfortable with leaving your children, Ward is not the school for you. The unfriendliness has saturated the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

My children have been at Ward Elementary school for two years and they have been miserable the entire time. The staff is not friendly or welcoming. The primary focus is not on the child's learning, rather it is knit-picking a chid and brow-beating him/her into submission. There is no tolerance at this school for children's unique individuality. There is absolutely no talking at anytime, even during recess. The saddest part is the assistant principals side with teachers and do not believe students or parents when confronted about particular needs not being met. The principal even agreed that this school has issues with the staff being kind. Do not send your kids to this school. Our children will be home-schooled to undue the damage Ward has inflicted on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

My child has been attending this school ,And I do not regret it one bit. This school is wonderful and to all concern your children will get just what they need here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

I picked Ward Elementary for my child (now a first grader). The teachers at Ward are fantastic! The parental involvement is astounding as well. I really feel like I made the best move for my child by enrolling him at Ward. I look forward to many more wonderful years at Ward Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

We have had 4 children at Ward and have been very pleased. The principal and guidance counselors have gone out of their way to meet our family's needs. From what we've seen, if your child has special needs, they will do every thing in their power to accomodate. With just a few minor exceptions, the teachers have been excellent. The physical education program is wonderful as are the art and music programs. My kids have participated in the unicycle club before school, and chess club after school. The teachers seem a little overconcerned about end of grade testing, but I think this is the same everywhere these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students31%
Female24%
Male35%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students34%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students34%
Female27%
Male39%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female46%
Male43%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted93%

Reading

All Students35%
Female39%
Male32%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female42%
Male33%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically gifted93%

Reading

All Students31%
Female36%
Male26%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students38%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted86%

Science

All Students31%
Female33%
Male30%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 52%
Black 33% 26%
Hispanic 23% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Expected Growth - School of Progress (2007)
  • 100% AYP Subgroups met - 23 Subgroups (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45
School end time
  • 3:10
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr Wendy Brewington
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (336) 774-4687

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3775 Fraternity Church Road
Winston-Salem, NC 27127
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 774-4676

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clemmons Elementary
Clemmons, NC



Kimmel Farm Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT