Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-11|Private
14 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jefferson Day School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Ms Vea Snyder is one of the founding members of the school, the current director of the school and one of the teachers. She works tirelessly for all the students, is wonderful at helping kids get the education they need in the most effective way possible, works with parents to understand the education their child needs and is getting, is always open to the possibility of changing something around if a student or parent brings a concern to the table and is simply one of the nicest people I have ever met in my life. Thank you Ms Vea for making my son's success in school possible!

Jefferson Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Their teaching gets results, helps kids overcome whatever learning problem they face with a program designed exactly for that student, and gives kids the confidence they need without the stress that usually plagues kids with learning challenges. They are willing to change things based upon the needs and likes/dislikes of the kids, making learning the most effective.


Jefferson Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
There is no set amount of homework for each subject or each student like it is in most schools. Every student learns differently and at a different pace, and homework is based on each child's needs in different subjects, not set in stone.

Jefferson Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Every student in this school has learning difficulties to overcome, and I believe the alternative teaching style, individually tailored curricula and dedication of the teachers all work together to inspire each student to work hard to overcome whatever learning challenges they face. I know my son is more determined than ever before to succeed because the school has made him feel like he CAN succeed

Jefferson Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Different learning problems, different ages, different backgrounds, different personality challenges are present all in one small group, so all the kids learn to work together, help each other and care for each other, and are probably more aware of how to accommodate all these things than other kids their age.


Jefferson Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
The students at JDS have a variety of learning challenges so each student learns how to be respectful of others' differences and how to help other students. Students in different grades have curricula appropriate to their needs and grade level, but since the school is small there is a fair degree of crossover and definitely a lot of interaction every day with kids of of all ages and learning capabilities. The older kids learn to help the younger ones, the younger ones learn values and appropriate behaviors from the older kids and they all work together to become a close-knit group.

Jefferson Day School 5

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Jefferson Day School changed my son Tyler's life - for the first time ever, our parent-teacher conferences are filled with only positive things! Tyler is 15 and a sophomore in high school. He has several learning disabilities having to do with information processing speed, memory, math and written expression that made regular classroom learning almost impossible once he got to the middle school level. The public schools were of no help, and it got so bad that we had to pull him out of public school and homeschool him for two years. Then we moved to Winston-Salem and found Jefferson Day. It is a very small school, which means they are able to provide the necessary attention to each student, and their alternative teaching methods allow them to individually tailor learning based on what each student needs for each subject. Tyler was getting Ds and Fs in public school and was depressed and convinced he was stupid and would never succeed at anything - with the help of JDS he is now getting As and Bs and has the confidence to do well in all his subjects! I give this school my highest recommendation. -Sandra Berg, MD

Jefferson Day School 1

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
If your child has a learning disability do not send them to this school. They do not have teachers trained in the required programs needed to teach these kind of children. Not only that but my son was bullied at this school and when I asked them to separate my son from that child they ignored me. If you have a child with a learning disability my advice would be to leave North Carolina and go to a state with more services.


Jefferson Day School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
My son went to this school for, K-2nd grade, three years. My husband and I was so impressed with the instruction my son recieved. This school isn't for everyone, it reminds me of 'Little House on the Prairie.' It doesn't have a gym or a huge library, but I would pass on a school that has all that for this experience. It's located in a church but it doesn't push any religious belief. It does expect good moral behavior. If my son stepped out of line, his teacher informed me immediately. I was amazed when my son got in trouble for fibbing. For some parents, that may seem overwhelming but I wanted an environment that dealt with the whole child: social skills, good moral character, high academic standards, and small class size. The best thing about this school is that they meet the child where they are academically.

Jefferson Day School 5

Posted May 11, 2007
- a parent
My Daughter have gone to Jefferson Day School since we moved from Atlanta three years ago. Jefferson Day school is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The Jefferson Day School is so friendly warm and environment for my children. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The director is so warm friendly and caring, remember the parent's name too. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you Jefferson Day School for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Day School
501 West 5th Street, Winston-Salem, NC  27101
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.
Last modified Jefferson Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-11
Top