Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
Winston-Salem, NC
Students enrolled: 609
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brunson Elementary 1

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
My child is in the h-ag program and it is terrible. Her teacher is incredibly unorganized and rude. There is one good teacher at each grade level. Mrs. Steele for 3rd grade and Mrs. McGee for 4th grade are both excellent teachers. Otherwise, poor teacher quality throughout the school. If you go visit, just take a few minutes to sit on the couch at the front and observe how the teachers talk to the students. The school is old and run down. There are very few after school activities. The residential population that attend Brunson are largely Spanish-speaking students. The h-ag program is great for some children and highly stressful for others. If you don't have the teachers mentioned above, it will be a long, dreadful year.

Brunson Elementary 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
The HAG program at this school is amazing! My daughter was challenged for the first time this year with a program that is not only faster paced but more creative. The school is diverse and welcoming and I wish we had started here in Kindergarten!


Brunson Elementary 1

Posted June 25, 2012
- a community member
A very disappointing year. Our child had two very unprepared teachers who did not get along and had no natural leadership qualities themselves. The discontent between the two teachers was very public and created a great deal of contention between parents---Furthermore, our child's homeroom teacher criticized the administration openly and freely to parents as well as students----although he had given her essentially carte blance to structure an alternative program to the one already in place. While a generous offer it came at the expense of some very deserving children

Brunson Elementary 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
My oldest son started here in third grade in the HAG program which has been fantastic for him. We started my younger son in kindergarten and discovered that the non-HAG teachers are just as wonderful as the HAG teachers.

Brunson Elementary 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
My 2 kids went here 3-5th grades in the HAG (highly Academically Gifted) program, and they had a blast and learned a lot. they were dissapointed they had to go to leave for middle school!


Brunson Elementary 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Brunson Elementary 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
My kids go to this school and they love it! It seems really well rounded and the staff realizes there is more to teaching and learning than just books and test scores. They think outside of the box. We even moved districts and had to fight the school board to keep our kids here! It's worth it!

Brunson Elementary 4

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brunson Elementary 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brunson Elementary 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brunson Elementary
155 Hawthorne Road North, Winston-Salem, NC  27104
(336) 727-2856
Last modified Brunson Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brunson Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top