Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
Ungraded
Public
Winston-Salem, NC

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Career Center 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a community member
A great place. I missed it when I graduated. It was the only grade school that I enjoyed. It had a great college-preparation style of teaching.

Career Center 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a community member
I recently graduated from UNC-CH, and my classes at Career Center were more thorough than many of my college courses. The Career Center is the best "high school" school in Forsyth County, and possibly North Carolina. The staff (the best instructor I ever had was at Career Center), the environment, and the fact that you meet the best and brightest students in all of Forsyth County who actually want to learn and prosper in school, result in a great educational experience. The Career Center goes above and beyond its mission to prepare you for college.


Career Center 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2009
- a student
Career Center is awesome- it's tons of fun, I feel like I'm trusted and now I have great friends all over the county! I highly reccomend the CC, I haven't once in 2 years regretted taking classes there. Complications with your schedule and traveling are worth it, I promise.

Career Center 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
All the students here are here because they want to be here, and this greatly enhances the atmosphere. The students here are high achieving and the only standardized tests given here really are the AP exams and certification exams for vocational classes. Just a few things about the culture of the school...extracurriculars are present, but only as they pertain to the classes taught. Sports and clubs are generally left to the 'home schools' in the area. This is also a commuter/open campus high school, as in people commute from their neighborhood schools to get here. No worries though, if you don't have a car, there are buses that run from every neighborhood school to the career center. The academics here are on a completely different level (a step higher, because of career center, the transition to college for me has been relatively smooth, academically speaking) than a normal high school.

Career Center 5

Posted July 25, 2008
- a student
Absolutely amazing! a community that allows all through out the county to come together in scholarship.


Career Center 5

Posted March 24, 2008
- a student
This page is sort of confusing because data such as test scores does not apply to Career Center. Let me tell you about it. Career center offers vocational classes like auto repair, radio broadcasting, cooking, child care, physcology, commercial art, aviation, and so much more. Students at Career Center only attend it for 2 periods (out of a 7-day period) and take their other classes at their regular high school. The enviroment is so much better then at the regular school and the classes are deep and informative. The teachers have years of experiance behind them. Career Center is an excellent place to learn (plus the cafateria food is provided by the cooking class, and its actually good!)

Career Center 5

Posted March 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Career Center 3

Posted February 02, 2005
- a parent
This school definitely has a better overall environment than some of the high schools in this county. Students feel they are treated with respect and as young adults which is not the norm in some of the high schools. The counselors are not helpful and talk in circles. Teacher quality is a hit or miss...Some are excellent and others you wonder how/why they are teaching high level classes. Students have a positive impression of the principal and feels he cares about their wellbeing. Parking is an issue but admn. does not blame it on the students and works with the kids rather than harras them. This school definitely has a positive environment that one wishes were infectious for the entire county. Without a positive environment students will not reach their full potential. Administration sets the tone for the environment and this school seems to do a good job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Career Center
910 Highland Court, Winston-Salem, NC  27103
(336) 727-8181
Last modified Career Center is a Public school
Career Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top