Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-10
Public
Winston-Salem, NC
Students enrolled: 830
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Paisley Middle School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a teacher
This Paisley teacher and supporter of IB applauds the June 22 student posting in which he/she likes "the IB program." MYP at Paisley comprises grades 6 - 10. The student values Paisley academics. But a third of H S students also participate in sports at Parkland H S or residential schools. Paisley H S teachers prepare students for IB Diploma , the 2-year program at Parkland Magnet H S. Many educators consider Diploma more rigorous than AP. Martha Allman, admissions dean at Wake Forest University, calls IB Diploma the "gold standard" of college prep. Although limited numbers are selected for the last two years of MYP, which is pure magnet, this fall Paisley will welcome its largest Year Four class of 72 students. Paisley high school classes are not "just like a repeat of middle school." Paisley humanities students routinely exceed expected growth as do English 2. Math / science students appreciate in college what they learned at Paisley. Of 29 Parkland 2014 Diploma candidates, 24 are Paisley grads. "Not staying?" The student should shadow H S classes before losing a valuable opportunity in Paisley's IB program.

Paisley Middle School 3

Posted June 22, 2014
- a student
Paisley has multiple ups and downs. I am a rising 8th grader at Paisley, and I think it is an average school, if you balance out the academics and the students. The academics are great, and most of the teachers are exceptional. However, there are really bad teachers that simply cannot teach! My Algebra class last school year had 32 students and the other one had 23! I believe that is uneven, and out of control of how in equal class sizes are at Paisley! One student attempted to steal my cell phone in March 2014, and that was dumb of him. However, administration handled it beautifully, and he was assigned out of school suspension! Kudos to the Assistant Principal! However, I am not staying for High school because, I like the IB program, but there are not very many people that stay behind, and you can't do sports, and it's just like a repeat of middle school, and they don't offer the same classes as other high schools do, so this is my last year at Paisley. If you send your child here, please only do it for middle school (grades 6-8.)


Paisley Middle School 3

Posted April 26, 2014
- a community member
Paisley is not a pretty school, but the academics ate great. This school offers a higher level of math for each grade, and uses discussion to help solve problems. Another benefit is that you will fit in with some group most of the time, because many types of people go to Paisley. As a 6th grade student, you might hate the school, but the sixth grade is the worst, as you are the youngest in the school and get less privledges. Paisley is also the only school in the area that offers Space Camp, which is a great experience. If you do happen to stay until 8th grade, I recommend staying 9th and 10th to finish out the middle years program. They also teach not only for the test, but to help you with skills you will need when to leave school and step into the real world. However, if you are in grade- level classes the stufents might be a bit more disruptive and the teachers will not be as good.

Paisley Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
This is a magnet school in a lower income neighborhood which brings its own challenges. As the mother of a magnet middle school student (6th grade), however, I would say nearly all positive things about the school. The principal, Dr. Cone, won best principal in the district this year. He seems to be approachable and definitely concerned about the students. The PTSA is really dynamic and involved. Teachers for the most part are strong. My daughter really enjoys German the best by far with all the fun opportunities for cultural involvement and language learning as well as Math with Mr. Loftis. Glad we sent her to Paisley. Would highly recommend.

Paisley Middle School 4

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Paisley Middle School is an IB Programme magnet school in Forsyth County. Dr. Gary Cone just won Principal of the Year in FC. I believe this was largely due to his leadership skills. At any given time, you can find him in the classrooms; visiting with students & teachers. Paisley is located in an extremely poverty stricken area of Winston-Salem. 49% of the students receive free/reduced lunch. Financially, the $5,000 would help so many students & teachers. Forsyth County teachers have not received an increase in pay in 5 years; yet at Paisley, you would never know this based on attitude of teachers or students. They remain positive, active in the community and willing to help students. In such a low income environment, parent involvement is low. Our PTA works hard to raise funds but the school has so many needs - new equipment, school supplies, tissues, paper, pencils and more. It's sad to see students who want to learn struggle because of inadequate supplies in classrooms. Please help Paisley by granting the $5,000. Thank you Lori Middleton-Sizemore A mom


Paisley Middle School 4

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Paisley IB Magnet school has brought out the best in my 7th grader. I am happy we made the decision to go for an IB education.

Paisley Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Paisley IB Magnet is a great school and better potential to make students more well rounded individuals. I believe in their strive to serve the community and giving the students the ability to learn abou the world that surrounds them. Paisley is very good about keeping the Parents in touch and highly involved in their child's stuent life. I feel my child feels more at home here having to share with kids from many different schools and backgrounds. Very diverse! Love that! My kid is challenged at the academic level and is encouraged to give his best! Thanks Paisley!

Paisley Middle School 5

Posted July 04, 2012
- a parent
Overall Paisley has been a very good school. My daughter's own experiences at Paisely have included being challenged, encouraged to step out of her comfort zone, and improve her own sense of responsibility to her work. There have a been issues with one particular teacher, but when those issues were addressed to the teacher and to the administration the problems were quickly cleared up. Her 6th grade class sizes ranged from 25 - 30 which is on par with other middle schools in the county. The very negative reviews dated May 21st and 14th do not represent the majority of experiences at Paisley. The IB program is designed for students who are willing to put in the extra time and effort to learn and not be spoon food or taught to a test. I teach at a nearby college prep private school that has had public middle school students attend our high school program. Of ALL the middle schools in Forsyth county, students coming from Paisley are the MOST prepared. This includes comparing Paisley students to kids from the Hanes HAG program. The Hanes students are "programmed" and unable to think out of the box the way Paisley students can. Paisley is a good school for self motivated kids


Paisley Middle School 4

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
My experiences at Paisley have been nothing but positive. My student has had a wealth of experiences that he would not have had any where else. I believe children are children no matter where you go and it is about how active you are as parent in the school. Very diverse in student and faculty population.

Paisley Middle School 5

Posted May 25, 2012
- a parent
I have had two of our three children attend Paisley for the entire Middle Years Programme (6th - 10th). The program was not around for our oldest. The teacher connection to students is incredible! This is a school that really reaches to teach every child - they push the top and challenge the middle, and work to bring up the bottom. No certification is needed there, and yet they have the same math that another area school has only for its highly gifted students. The broad international scope was wonderful for our two children, and the teachers are the best they ever had!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paisley Middle School
1400 Grant Avenue, Winston-Salem, NC  27105
(336) 727-2775
Last modified Paisley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paisley Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top