Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitaker Elementary

Public | K-5 | 596 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2013

I am a previous student of this school and my advice to you is do not send you child here if they have learning disabilities. 98% of the teachers do not care about your child only test scores. Also they do not understand learning disabilities I have ADHD and dyslexia, they said that I would never be above a C student and would never learn a language or play an instrument. After they told my mom this they gave up on me. I switched to one of the top private schools in NC and am proud to say that my GPA is a 3.9 and I play the violin and take Latin. If your child is a "normal" learner than it is good school for them


Posted April 10, 2011

I had two children go through this school. I am also a teacher so I know both sides of the coin so to speak. The state sets the curriculum and the teachers/schools are required to follow it. I think it is interesting that the one parent mentioned teaching to the test. In actuality, the test is on the material that is taught. It is also important to remember that when you are looking for a "good" school most of the time you look at the state report card's evaluation of the school in question. A major part of the state evaluation is the test results that a school earns. I haven't met many parents who want to enroll their children in a school with low test scores. This school is a good one and the teachers do care. Every child won't love every teacher that they have in this school or any school that they attend-- nor will the parents. It is important to remember that that is life too. Part of the school experience is learning to adjust to all different situations as well as acquiring "book" knowledge. It's important we help our children learn this lesson as well as the standard course of study or core curriculum material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

not impressed in the least. My daughter had low self-esteem due to teacher pressure . We moved to a different school that understands the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

Our experience at Whitaker school was a disaster!!!! The teachers only care about teaching to the test and are under a lot of pressure from the principal. There were many discipline problems in our class which were never handled. The teacher we had didn't want any parent involvement because she didn't want us to see "how the children really acted in class". The "card system" diminished self-esteem in the whole class. The so called "rigorous curriculum" that another poster mentioned is a joke. It is really mountains of busy work. I would certainly look elsewhere for a loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Having three kids go through Whitaker, I wouldn't choose another school. Some of the concerns were no naps in kindergarten and teaching to the test. What the public needs to know is that all elementary schools that have a rigorous curriculum have rigorous standards that are mandated from the state government. I found that the teachers there tried their best to be as creative and enthusiastic as possible. I have never seen a child unhappy or unloved at whitaker. My children were very well prepared to attend an academically challenging middle and high school because of the foundations made at Whitaker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

We'Ve been at Whitaker for 10 years and love it. No it's not perfect, no school is. The teachers make this school great. The PE and Music areas are exceptional. We feel so lucky and our kids have felt loved at Whitaker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

We have had 3 kids attend Whitaker since 2000. It is a strong school for K-3 but Grades 4-5 are less good. Kids got 'gimme' A's in the 4-5 AG (gifted-school term-not mine) program with very little work (or homework) We met with teachers/admin several times expressing concern at the lack of 'challenge' these supposedly capable (all 92+ percintile) kids were getting. Staff insisted that they must teach to learning ability of the slower children. We never understood why slower learners would be coddled in these classes (never get a good answer). Kids were supposed to be Grade 6 in math & language by the end of 5th (but it was never tested (took the same EOG as all kids). Our other child moved from Whitaker (great K-2 experience) to Brunson HAG program in 3rd. He worked his tail off and had a terrific learning experience (rigorous & funl).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

My son is in 4th grade at Whitaker and although he did not attend there his Kindergarten year, since transferring there in 1st grade his experience has been wonderful. The teachers do tend to teach to the test a lot of the time, but his teachers have been able to do this creatively. He is in AG classes there and is getting straight A's which says a lot. He looks forward to going to school every day. Whitaker is lucky to also have a very strong PTA and there are always parents all around the school helping in classrooms, in the office, and on committees. After my son's Kindergarten year at another local school with very little PTA membership, I see how important it is for parents to be involved. My 5 year old will be starting Kindergarten there next fall and I am excited he will be attending Whitaker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

My mom is a first grade teacher at Whitaker. I am also a teacher, at an Atlanta area school. You would be lucky if your child got to go to Whitaker. All of the teachers are nice and caring. All of the kids in my mom's classroom are always happy and always learning and doing creative things. The school is very nice. Kindergarteners don't take naps! Unless you go to some private school, I don't think you will find that anywhere.


Posted December 26, 2008

Our son had a miserable experience at Whitaker. I totally agree with another reviewer that they teach to the book and don't allow Kindergarteners to have a nap. My son went to Kindergarten at Whitaker and his self esteem for that whole year was very low. They don't focus on the child as an individual and they expect all children to learn the same way. The principal was very cold and uncaring. We transferred our son to Moore Magnet the next year and he has made such an improvement. I feel like the teachers and Principal care about my child at Moore. His self esteem has improved greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I love the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities55%
Non-disabled students80%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Academically gifted89%

Reading

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Non-disabled students90%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students85%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted94%

Reading

All Students71%
Female72%
Male69%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male70%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students76%
Female72%
Male80%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students80%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students70%
Female63%
Male78%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Black 11% 26%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Buena Vista Road
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 727-2244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Leo Catholic School
Winston-Salem, NC


St. Leo School
Winston-Salem, NC


Children's Center
Winston-Salem, NC


Summit School
Winston-Salem, NC


Sherwood Forest Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC


Moore Elementary
Winston-Salem, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT