Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meadowlark Elementary
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Waaaaaay too much. Teachers, please incorporate teaching in your classroom. Children only have a few years to be children and enjoy themselves. It's not their problem that you can't get your job done 7-3. Work till 5 then, like the rest of us, and get the job done. Look at the EOGs. It's obvious that you're not able to get our children to pass. Do your job. Teach.

Meadowlark Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
The child is constantly reprimanded and somehow it's parents' role to complete their lessons at home or to hire a private tutor. Since when do parents have an education degree? When the child cannot get his work completed, he's the dud. Really??? Well who didn't teach him in the first place? How does this teach integrity to the child if the teacher doesn't truly care. THAT'S a major problem at this school. The teachers generally don't care, except for a handful.


Meadowlark Elementary 1

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
The school looks great on the surface because the children who attend are children of affluent families. Naturally, the kids are overall good--though MANY already conceited, so be prepared for that. Unfortunately, the principal and teachers take the credit and there is ABSOLUTELY no care for parental concern, remarks, input. They only want our money and for us to take what they dish out. They push the learning MOSTLY to the home and onto the parents. When you ask them nicely to give less homework because we are exhausted from our own workday, they reply with statements like, "I have a Master's degree, and I have been doing this for 30 years...sounds like the reality coming from your child is not true. Perhaps we can meet to get to the root of the problem." Somehow everything is our fault. They are "never" responsible for the issue at-hand. BIGGEST problem: the principal. After trying to talk to him repeatedly, I made a note to self: 'Dr. Raymer: not approachable, doesn't care either, parents a nuisance unless you give him A LOT of money, he will NEVER vouch for your child, so let it go.' In my opinion and note to Dr. Raymer: "1. If you cannot care about the wellness of the children in your elementary school AND you can justify yourself year after year--sleeping well at night, then you're in the wrong position, buddy! 2. Do your job and get those teachers IN SYNC with parents. Be considerate of the home. What in the world gives you such entitlement? We PAY YOUR SALARIES. Listen and react positively to your parents, i.e., your employers. We have great potential, and YOU'RE RUINING a very precious time in our lives."

Meadowlark Elementary 1

Posted May 14, 2013
- a community member
I am very unhappy at this school. The teachers here are absolutely despicable. There are a few good teachers at this school, but I am getting real tired of a lot of teachers crap. I'll go ahead and tell you the pros and cons of this school. Pros: Clean in most areas. Little to no violence. In a good location. Great students. Cons: Horrible staff and administration. 1. Unfairness 2. Bad Attitude 3. Pick Favorites 2. Somewhat Judgmental Dirty bathrooms. Students feel as though they are being treated unfairly, hence hating the teachers. I am a student, here, and I am very disappointed.

Meadowlark Elementary 4

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
Meadowlark provides excellent academic opportunities for your children, although it is becoming increasingly overcrowded each year. The current principal has changed the environment since his arrival 3 years ago. He is a hands off principal that does not interact with the children, and he is definitely not invested in the education/experience of the special needs child. Expect inflexibility and need for power. The assistant principal is wonderful, and many of the teachers are exceptional. The PTA is extremely involved, and due to the overall affluent population of the area, there are wonderful resources for the children. Overall, a great academic school with minimal diversity and a dud principal


Meadowlark Elementary 3

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
Overall, a good school. Just like other schools, there are some bad teachers, some good teachers and a few amazing teachers. Two of my children attended this school from K - 5. Due to large classrooms and lack of principal leadership, my youngest will not be attending this school. All of the fifth grade students are in the "pods" because of overcrowding. Look into all your options before sending your child to Meadowlark Elementary.

Meadowlark Elementary 4

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarden at Meadowlark and I could not be more pleased! The teachers are wonderful. And the parent involvement is amazing!

Meadowlark Elementary
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Meadowlark is a very good school. Very progressive. The children get a lot of personal attention from their teachers.


Meadowlark Elementary 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
We've had a great experience at Meadowlark! Communication with teachers has been great, and the office staff cares about the students.

Meadowlark Elementary 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
MES is an excellent school with highly educated teachers.

Nearby schools

Meadowlark Elementary
401 Meadowlark Dr, Winston-Salem, NC  27106
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (336) 924-3434
Last modified Meadowlark Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top