Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
(Cont.) The student body is welcoming to all those who pursue school activities. It is rare that a student who seeks to be involved at CBDS is rejected by the community. In my four years at the school, I never once saw a student isolated when they sought to be included. Athletically, CBDS has some room for improvement. While there are excellent coaches and athletes in the school, they are currently in one of the most competitive sports conferences in North Carolina. The school is currently moving to leave the conference but the grim reality is that most teams see more "L's" than "W's" Alternatively, CBDS has a great arts department. The drama program is thriving and there are a plethora of opportunities for students to show their musical talents through the praise band and glee club. CBDS has a strict but not unreasonable discipline system. If students act respectfully towards others and arrive places on time, then discipline will be a non-issue. If you value a first-rate education, caring teachers, and inclusive students, CBDS is an excellent option to consider. It was an option that I did not originally consider. However, it is a choice that I absolutely do not regret.

Calvary Baptist Day School 2

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
We attended CBDS for 7 years. Our elementary experience was wonderful. The teachers in the elementary school are kind and loving. They celebrated each child's gifts and talents. When we graduated to the middle school it was an entirely different experience. My child was bullied by students and teachers. The academics are not as rigorous as the public school but we felt it was worth the sacrifice to get a Christian education. Half through middle school we decided enough was enough. It's a tough school for girls.


Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
We have had children in this school for 13 years and it is an amazing place! Not perfect, and not going to cater to every parent or student's peculiarities, but the academics are excellent and the teachers truly care! The Headmaster has a tremendous vision for the school and is raising the bar each year. It is also the best private school value in the area. Most importantly, Christ is placed at the center of everything (as He should be). Highly recommend.

Calvary Baptist Day School 2

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
CBDS is legalistic. They "knit pick" students over every little thing and constantly remind students about the consequences of breaking rules rather than teaching them how to live as a spirit creature in Christ that lives by the Law of Faith. The teachers and administration have a preference for submissive and subserviant students, and do not encourage or channel leadership skills in their students.

Calvary Baptist Day School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a teacher
I have taught at CBDS for eight years. I get up in the morning looking forward to teaching these bright students. We have a great mission statement that rings true with God's Word and our community. We incorportate parents, grandparents, staff and faculty to work together to develop students that think a God-centered world view. What a privilege to be a school with great students, co-workers, and administration.


Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
Calvary is a great place to be! We've been there for 13 years now and over all it's been a great ride. Not perfect, but more good than bad. Middle school lacks in building up young men if they don't fit 'the mold'. Most teachers and staff are fantastic, but the parents are truly amazing! Academics are outstanding, God is truly honored and students are held to a high standard.

Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
Great school. Strong values. Some fantastic teachers-excellent relevant curicculum

Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
We moved to Winston-Salem because of this school. The teachers are very positive and there is a nurturing environment for the students. I am always impressed when I attend any school function and so glad I made the choice for my children to attend Calvary.


Calvary Baptist Day School 5

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
The high school principal is very involved and innovative. He handles all problems swiftly. The science and math teachers are excellent! A few teachers are not so great but most schools have those anyway. The school is safe and there are lots of activites for the kids to keep the them involved. A Christian education is stressed without losing sight of the real world. School spirit is high.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Baptist Day School
5000 Country Club Road, Winston-Salem, NC  27104
(336) 765-5542
Last modified Calvary Baptist Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-K
Calvary Baptist Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top