Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 667 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 3, 2014

I am very pleased with this school. The staff is amazing and so professional. I trust this school completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

This is a great school in most ways. My favorite teacher was Mrs.Hachmiester the most Awesome AIG teacher.


Posted September 29, 2013

IF YOU CARE ANYTHING ABOUT YOUR CHILDREN, DON'T SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL!!!! This school is the worst I have ever seen, and I went to some of the worst schools in NC. The only reason it got 1 star is i had to put one to write this review. My children have only been enrolled for about 3 weeks and there has not been a day that my 4th grader didn't come home and cry her eyes out. I have talked to the teacher to no avail. At first appearance it looks great and organized, but it is not. They try to run it like a military school. They do not want you to have any contact with your children from first bell thru last bell. They do not want any parent involvement. They do not give your child any guideince, the teachers tell them to ask a classmate not them. It is computers teaching your child. The only work we see are these print outs that don't explain nothing, you don't even know what you child is working on. They just expect your child to automatically know what to do and you as well. My child has never gotten in trouble in school a day in her life, before this school. I am currently trying to find other schools for my children to attend if that means I have to move!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Our elder son attended Kintergarten and First grade in this school. The teachers and administration ensured that all his needs were met and challenged him academically. We had to leave the school when my job got relocated. He is attending a school with 9 rating but we think Ridgewood was better than the current one. All the teacher's we came across were really good and Mrs Brinson stands out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Very caring and dedicated faculty. They do everything with the children in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

Our first year at a public school and so far so good! I love my son's teacher and principal. They actually seem to enjoy what they do and aren't burnt out yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Ridgewood Elementary has the finest teachers and cheerful students, the best resources, and an active PTA. The students are all excited about learning new things each day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My daughter started in Kindergarten and I loved her teacher Ms. K Pretlow and Asst. Mr. J. Brinson. Ms. Pretlow was very enthusiastic and they both had a love and concern for the children that you will not find everywhere. The school on a whole seems to be a great school. I just feel as though the communication between administration and parents could be a little better. There were times I received information concerning school activities a day before or same day as an event. You can't depend on a kindergartner to notify you of things going on in school. I love the school. I just think there needs to better communication. The staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female59%
Male60%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female56%
Male52%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male66%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male57%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male72%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students60%
Female63%
Male57%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students61%
Female50%
Male72%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 26%
White 41% 52%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Ferdonia Stewart
Fax number
  • (252) 355-3349

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 South Bend Road
Winterville, NC 28590
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 355-7879

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brookhaven SDA School
Winterville, NC



Brookhaven Sda School
Winterville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT