Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Long Mill Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Thank you for all you do Mrs. Craig! You put all of your heart into teaching and your passion truly shines.

Long Mill Elementary 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school with excellent teachers. The parental involvement and PTO are absolutely awesome! The staff at this school truly care about each and every child. I love this small town community where every child has a name and is more than just a number. We LOVE Long Mill Elementary!


Long Mill Elementary 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Long Mill is a wonderful school with teachers who care about their students both personally and academically. My child has shown so much growth and has flourished both academically and socially. This year, there is a new principal and a returning assistant principal from when the school first opened. The overall environment of the school is much more relaxed and open. I feel this is going to be Long Mill's best year yet.

Long Mill Elementary 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Wow, these reviews are all one extreme or the other. Mine is the positive extreme. My children are constantly kept challenged at their level. This keeps kids from getting bored. When I was in Elementary school, I was always bored, being ahead of the class. I had to wait until Middle school t be able to be placed in advanced classes. Here, they are challenged within their own class room, allowing them to stay with peers, yet keep their minds active. Excellent attitude from all the teachers they have had so far. The pricinciple seems to truly care. The technology is great and they are preparing for today's and tomorrow's world. My only complaint is that I wish Science would be a larger part in the earlier grades.

Long Mill Elementary 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
A wonderful place to work. I look forward to going to work making a difference in the children' s lives. I can truly appreciate how the principal runs the school. She operates on a zero tolerance policy. She believes hold hearts fly in the children and want them to feel confident, loved, and safe when they enter long mill. My son attended fifth grade at long mill ,my first year there and he wished he could have started school there in kindergarten. ROAR for the Long Mill Lions yay


Long Mill Elementary 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a teacher
My school helps my children excel by giving them assignments at their level,so they do not get bored. They have great technology with motivating teachers.

Long Mill Elementary 4

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
The principal shows no warmth or welcome to parents. My children who attended there have transferred out and are way behind where they should be even though they had good grades at Long Mill. That is disturbing.

Long Mill Elementary 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My children attended this school. Key word "attended"! We moved to get them out of this atmosphere. The Principal has created a tense atmosphere for the teachers and rules with a "bully like" attitude. I believe there is also racial preference (due to many situations my children were exposed to) and couldn't be happier to have left this school! I feel sorry for any/every child that is stuck attending Long Mill. If you have a choice, please run away as fast as you can!


Long Mill Elementary 3

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
I haven't seen this school, just going for a job interview .. so i have no idea about it .. would like to know ...

Long Mill Elementary 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
My child has Autism and ADHD and has attended Long Mill for kindergarten and will be moving onto first grade this year. I am overall pleased with her first year. She has attended pre-school in other public schools in Wake County and Long Mill has been the best experience so far. The downside to this school is the teacher turn around which is questionable to why these teachers want to leave the school. But, Mrs. Schaffer (teacher for special needs) Mrs. Dobson (Guidance Counselor) Mrs. Pennington (Administrative Intern) and Mrs. Rowe (kindergarten teacher) are all WONDERFUL! They all helped make my child's kindergarten year as enjoyable as it could be and communicated with me every step of the way. Ms. Ferrell has also been a huge help to get my child prepared for her first grade year. It really has to be a group effort between the parents and the school staff to help a child with special needs but I feel confident that Long Mill is taking the proper steps to help every single child. We are looking forward to another great year!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Long Mill Elementary
1753 Long Mill Road, Youngsville, NC  27596
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (919) 554-0667
Last modified Long Mill Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top