Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dickinson High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2013

Dickinson High School has so many opportunities for students to participate and to succeed. Great vocational program and teachers for those who want to get to work right away or get ready for a career in auto mechanics or agriculture. Academics are great; kids score high on both ACT and SAT. Graduates have gone to MIT and Harvard, as well as many other prestigious colleges. The counselors seek out students to apply for scholarships and leadership academies. I like the personal attention students receive at DHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Dickinson High School has made tremendouse progress in its curriculum and in meeting the needs of all students. Students are challenged in their classes, there's help and tutoring available to students who need it and there are many, many electives to choose from that will further their career and vocational interests. The music, drama and arts program are top-notch as well. The teachers work hard to meet the needs of students. The principal is superb! There is absolutely no comparison between Dickinson High School and any other schools in this region! All three of my children have had a great experience at DHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

We have been very dissapointed with most of the teachers. My child spends much of the 4 classes of the day visiting with peers. My child has endured harsh unprofessional critism from many teachers and staff members. My child dreads going to school. I have requested administrative assistance, only to be met with condecending rudeness. I am in the process of filing a formal grievance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

My Daughter is a senior at DHS this year and I am very happy with the overall experience she has had there. she has always loved going to school. we had a death in our family her sophemore year out of state and we had to leave for a week. my daughter had a terrible time when she got back she lost her uncle/mentor in a car accident. the staff was wonderful and supportive to her.My son will attend DHS next year and I can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

We were very disgusted with the attitude of the schools leadership. They are satisfied with poor test score results, and are not concerned with improving the quality of education. We are very lucky in this town because we have a private school system the excels. After we switched schools there was a night and day difference in our kids achievements.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2005

Our experience was not up to standard.. Test scores are below average, and staff is more concerned about themselves then the studensts. We are lucky to have a private system in Dickinson. There is no comparison between the two.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

I attended Dickinson High School for two years. The parents are very involved, and they have an amazing indoor athletics facility for Basketball, wrestling, gymnastics, volleyball, etc... no practicing at the elementary school gyms anymore.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

This is a very down to earth , safe and great school to have your child attend. i would ALL over again!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female62%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant62%

Reading

All Students65%
Female64%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant65%

Science

All Students66%
Female59%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the North Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 83%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A32%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

979 13th Ave West
Dickinson, ND 58601
Phone: (701) 456-0030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Trinity High School
Dickinson, ND






South Heart High School
South Heart, ND


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT