Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6 & Ungraded|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John's Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
As a troublemaker when I attended SJA, I was often subject to appropriate discipline. My teachers and the office staff took an active role in teaching me respect, while showing it themselves.

St. John's Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
In grade school, I was often a trouble maker, and often subject to discipline, even including suspension. Through it's consistent application of Christian values and fair discipline, the school instilled the virtue of honesty, integrity and fairness.


St. John's Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
I am an alumni of SJA, I later went on to graduate from Grad School with an extremely high GPA and now practice a very specialized branch of Law. I was very impressed with the quality of education that I received in grade school. When my classmates and I switched over to the public schools, we were far ahead of other students in many areas: particularly in reading and writing. I am a firm believer that the solid foundation I received at SJA was critical to my success in later academia.

St. John's Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 07, 2016
- a community member
They are just too new, paid too little and too controlled by administration to develop as professionals in anyway.

St. John's Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 07, 2016
- a community member
Its really up to the parents to determine their child's level of success. The teachers are simply too overwhelmed to be able to go out of their way or think outside of the box at all.


St. John's Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a community member
They have to show respect to gain respect. Its all about who is who and power trips. I feel bad for any kid that is in attendance there.

St. John's Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Some children seemed to get away with more misbehavior if their parents were from the "right group" the Principal and several teachers definitely play favorites.

St. John's Academy 1

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
We were not impressed with a majority of the teachers or administration. Lots of homework coming home to the point were we felt we were the ones teaching our kid. They need to cut back on all the field trips and guest speakers and maybe pay for additional teachers. Just seems it is too much for them the handle. Administration is unavailable and unresponsive to complaints.


St. John's Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Our journey with SJA started over ten years ago when my son attended. He was first signed up to attend kindergarten in the public school system. It was very important to us to give him the best education. We start and end our day in prayer. We are not Catholic but we are Christians. One day my son (kindergarten) said," mom, I can't wait to bring my Bible to school." It was that day that I signed him up for SJA. He got to bring his Bible to school. Today, he is an amazing young man who has a strong faith which allows him to witness to others. His faith was harvested at SJA. Some of his best friends today, are from his kindergarten class. It has a strong family connection. Trust in the direction of where God will lead you. It's worth every penny. Forever grateful!

St. John's Academy 5

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
In addition to academic excellence, I love that SJA puts an emphasis on personal values. SJA incorporates Catholic Christian values into its everyday curriculum. This foundation has remained with my children beyond SJA s doors. I am forever grateful to SJA as my children have grown into great citizens and dynamic leaders from learning to help others, and make a difference in the world around them.

Nearby schools

St. John's Academy
215 5th St SE, Jamestown, ND  58401
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (701) 252-3397
Last modified St. John's Academy is a Private school
Top