Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Belair Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 322 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

This is our second year at Bel Air. We have decided to homeschool (and I have never been a. Fan of home schooling, so the fact that I've reached this point is surprising). We haven't been happy with the children's safety and pick up and dismissal, the lack of communication for the teachers, the inconsistent standards. Our kid reads about 65 words per minute. They told us he should be reading between 50-60 words per minute yet he wasn't up to par?!?! Doesn't make sense to me. Also, he never has home work and I don't have a curriculum so I have idea what they are doing in school until the test comes home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Bel Air has caring teachers and staff. Their concern for the children's educational well being and personal growth is evident. The school has a welcoming and collaborative environment to both the kids and their families. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Our school has an awesome staff, great kids and involved parents! We love Bel Air and we can't imagine sending our kids any where else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

My children are happy at this school and have consistently improved in their test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Bel Air is a great school. All educators and ancillary staff are experienced, caring and supportive of individual student needs. The PTA is very active and supports educational goals through parent volunteers and providing necessary funds to supplement the classroom educational experience (i.e. Arts in the School, additional technology, RAH, etc.) The school secretary is AWESOME (no other way to describe her). Even though Minot is growing, Bel Air will most likely remain smaller in size because of physical location and property size. Go Bobcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

On of my favorite places to Substitute Teach. Students are respectful and there seems to be few discipline issues. Teachers are organized and all staff are very welcoming. Very few distractions for the students throughout the school day.


Posted August 11, 2013

Bel air elementary is a great school. The teachers and staff are so nice and easy to work with, not to mention the school secretary is wonderful, she treats all of the students like her own children!! The music teacher and choir group the Bel Air Bebops are amazing. My oldest daughter spent all of her grade school years here and was sad to say goodbye, she a wonderful experience. My other daughter loves it too. The PTA is great and keeps everyone involved and does many fabulous things for the students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

It is where my 2 grandsons are students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

When we transferred in last year, the teachers, staff and parents made us feel welcome. We have absolute confidence our boys are getting the best education available. It is obvious the teachers and staff enjoy their jobs and school environment. We have no concerns about the children s safety while at school. Bel Air also has a very active PTA which shows the schools commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Bel Air School has the most amazing and caring teachers. They welcome parents into the school with open arms. Couldn't ask for a better place for my children to spend their day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Bel Air school has wonderful staff that is very focus on the education of its students. They also display great character and enthusiasm. They are always willing to go the extra mile, a great example is our wonderful music teacher who donates many hours for the school choir.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

our children went to Belair and now our grandchildren go there. It is the best overall school in Minot. The teachers treat all the kids as their own and help them to reach their full level of development. Belair school is the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Bel Air is a great school. My child has enjoyed attending Bel Air, and has learned a great deal from experienced staff. Music, physical education and library time are still included in the curriculum. Parents are very involved, our first grade class had 8 parents sign up as room parent! I would recommend Bel Air to individuals relocating to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the North Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students86%
Female92%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Science

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the North Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Reading

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the North Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 25th St NW
Minot, ND 58703
Phone: (701) 857-4590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT