Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Williston High School

Public | 9-12 | 787 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 18, 2014

With a new Principal this year it will take time to transition. However, a new math tutor has been getting good things said about her by the students. She apparently is excellent and also cares about the students from what I am told.


Posted January 6, 2014

I am currently a sophomore at WHS. I moved to Williston in 6th grade and don't even know what to say about how little the administration cares about the students (district wide). It's also amazing how little content is taught in classrooms. In my freshman honors English class, half of the class did not know what an ADJECTIVE is. This year, I've started taking classes at WSC (we went through a year long ordeal to get to this point, however). Because of this, I don't have a 4th hour, and therefore do not get announcements (they're read during 4th). At the beginning of the year, people in the office told me I could get the announcements by looking online. I checked that out, and the only announcements that are there are from before school started - they haven't been updated at all. I've gone back to the office to ask about this, and see if we could find a solution. The only answer I got was, "sorry, you'll just have to ask your friends." This is just one example of how incompetent the administration is. The only good thing I have to say about WHS is that the music program is excellent. Our band and choir teachers do a great job. Most of my peers can't wait to graduate and leave WHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2013

Williston High School is with out a doubt one of the poorest administered schools in the country. I have had expieriance with several high schools, in othe States, and nowhere have I encountered such total ineptitude. The faculty promotes degrading of students in front of their peers. The faculty instills a defeatist attitude in students that are struggling. The faculty as well as administration are under qualified and ill prepared to handle the growth that the shool has endured. It appears that several of the other comments are right on point regarding the fact that administration forms a "hit" list of students that they passive aggressively drive out of school. Its a shame that if a particular individule doesnt fit within the perimeters of "A" typical student persona then that student is left to languish. A concerned parent.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Williston High School is a GREAT school!!! My children feel safe as a student at this school. Teachers are very helpful with there school work when needed. Everyone we have had contact with (office staff) has been very helpful and kind :) If you have never worked in a school office the beginning of the school year is very hectic !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

It is no source of wonder that this school fails perennially in testing and graduation rating. The school just sent me an incorrect schedule for my freshman son that included classes he had already taken in their own advance summer school, then told me that no changes could be made by phone. I must take time out to come to the school and wait for a counselor and no they don't take appointments. Oh btw it must be our fault for not registering correctly in the fall.. Shear incompetent insolence like that should warrant a change in administration, instead there is probably another award being pursued in order to cover up the failure. As a note I scored parent involvement low because the school seems to discourage it. When I requested an appointment to come in and change the schedule I was told I had to wait in the Queue as appointment were not given. I was further advised that it was unnecessary for me to come, my son could do it himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

Williston High has the highest dropout rate in the state and failed to make ayp because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

I had a child who was the victim of bullying and found out that Williston Schools have no bullying policy what so ever. They simply dismissed as name calling and there is nothing they can do. The superintendent confirmed this. Also come to find out ND has no bullying laws. Victims and their families are expected to just deal with it or leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

From personal knowledge I can confirm that the Principal not only lacks leadership ability but decides based on a student's economic and social class to encourage many to leave the school. He refers to them as "people like that" and is especially quick to discriminate against Amerian Indians, working class children, and anyone who isn't well connected. Students have been harassed till they quit, encouraged to quit, told they could not come back (i.e.after pregnancy) and told they would be better off getting a GED. One moher brought her son in to talk with the principal when he indicated he was thinking of dropping put. His reply was to get up from his seat, walk over to the student, shake his hand and say "great,! let me know when you get your GED."


Posted August 23, 2010

Williston High School staff has no interest in helping students who struggle with school, achieve. They are simply told to drop out and get their GED. If your child isn't involved in athletics or part of student council they are simply ignored. My only hope is that there is a change before my youngest children reach high school, but I won't hold my breath.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Our oldest child is a sophomore at Williston High School. The Teachers he has are very helpfull in keeping the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American80%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Non-migrant64%

Reading

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American91%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant72%

Science

All Students72%
Female69%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native American90%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Dakota used the North Dakota State Assessment (NDSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 11. Results represent students enrolled in the school for the entire academic year. The NDSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Dakota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the North Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: North Dakota Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 81%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 12%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

502 West Highland Dr
Williston, ND 58801
Phone: (701) 572-0967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Alexander High School
Alexander, ND



Watford City High School
Watford City, ND


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT