Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
227 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
My son is thriving and has very supportive and loving teachers and classmates. I could not have asked for a better school for him. He loves everything about his school. As for thr principal, he loves her too. She too is both kind and loving towards my son.

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
To my daughter's teachers...thank you for a wonderful learning environment and inspiring her to "do her best" in everything she undertakes. She loves school and loves learning, which is a reflection of you.


St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2015
- a parent
School that emphasizes preparing you for high school, yet spends time enforcing unimportant rules instead of teaching. Many teachers are liked because they let the kids do fun things like watch movies, but that is because they are too lazy to teach, and when they do teach, it is arts and crafts that teach nothing. Students grades in English classes reflect artistic ability and not real knowledge.

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2015
- a student
School that emphasizes preparing you for high school, yet spends time enforcing unimportant rules instead of teaching. Many teachers are liked because they let the kids do fun things like watch movies, but that is because they are too lazy to teach, and when they do teach, it is arts and crafts that teach nothing. Students grades in English classes reflect artistic ability and not real knowledge.

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
DONT SEND YOUR KIDS HERE!! Okay I am not here to tell you what to do with your kids but I highly recommend looking at any school other than this school. The whole staff is corrupt. The ways they try to teach are not effective, especially in junior high. They have teenagers doing artsy crafts for projects saying that it prepares you for high school, which I must say it does not, and that is what junior high is all about. The principal is horrible, once you get into junior high, she treats you horribly, you get scared every time you see her to be honest. She doesn't output a loving and caring atmosphere, even when needed, yes I know they are supposed to be strict at some times to teach you discipline, there is not one time that she even smiled at one of the students unless she was shaming or embarrassing them in class. Foreign language was not good at all! She's a wonderful woman don't get me wrong, but she has no way of teaching, my class was one to act up in her class only because we knew she didn't know much about Spanish. You can look over her Kent college teaching ratings I believe and see even from other people her teaching methods are not productive. If you are a boy, I'm this school most likely going into upper grade you will most likely witness quite a bit of sexism. This isn't just me talking many girl classmates of mine have notice it also. I'm going to end this here but I would strongly consider looking for a different school! (Losing tons of kids in each class the year after the new principal joined must tell you something along with 7 staff members either being fired or being forced to resign)


St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2015
- a student
DONT SEND YOUR KIDS HERE!! Okay I am not here to tell you what to do with your kids but I highly recommend looking at any school other than this school. The whole staff is corrupt. The ways they try to teach are not effective, especially in junior high. They have teenagers doing artsy crafts for projects saying that it prepares you for high school, which I must say it does not, and that is what junior high is all about. The principal is horrible, once you get into junior high, she treats you horribly, you get scared every time you see her to be honest. She doesn't output a loving and caring atmosphere, even when needed, yes I know they are supposed to be strict at some times to teach you discipline, there is not one time that she even smiled at one of the students unless she was shaming or embarrassing them in class. Foreign language was not good at all! She's a wonderful woman don't get me wrong, but she has no way of teaching, my class was one to act up in her class only because we knew she didn't know much about Spanish. You can look over her Kent college teaching ratings I believe and see even from other people her teaching methods are not productive. If you are a boy, I'm this school most likely going into upper grade you will most likely witness quite a bit of sexism. This isn't just me talking many girl classmates of mine have notice it also. I'm going to end this here but I would strongly consider looking for a different school! (Losing tons of kids in each class the year after the new principal joined must tell you something along with 7 staff members either being fired or being forced to resign) also one more thing I see many ratings saying how great it is but, coming from all the students in my grade we hate it

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
WONDERFUL CATHOLIC FAITH BASED SCHOOL. The academics at this school cannot be compared. The children are so exceptionally prepared for high school that they breeze through. I have 2 children currently in the school and one in high school. My son is having no trouble with all honors courses in high school thanks to this OUTSTANDING INSTITUTION!!!

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
The kids love it, the teachers are marvelous. They care about the children and the drop off and pick up is one of the best, I've experienced. The sports are pushed which cause the parents to become close and involved as well as the music department...I could go on and on.


St Vincent Depaul Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
I have sent four children through this fine school. I thinkl that the staff is very caring and the students just love it here. We explored almost every Catholic elementary school in the Akron area and settled here because it felt like home to my family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Vincent Depaul Elementary School
17 South Maple Street, Akron, OH  44303
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (330) 762-5912
Last modified St Vincent Depaul Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top