Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
161 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of The Elms High School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a community member
I was miles ahead when I arrived in college after attending the Elms 9-12. A few of my former classmates and I still discuss how much more prepared we felt for college and beyond after our time at the Elms. I highly recommend the school for its atmosphere, academics, and the attitude and drive it instills in its students. I feel my mom got every penny's worth!

Our Lady Of The Elms High School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Great school, great academics, great warmth. I completely disagree with the reviewer who talked about a "status appeal." We send our daughter here so she can get a fair shake without louder boys getting all the attention. I have a son and I taught school, so I speak from experience. I loved my male students, but I also recognized that girls were intimidated by their presence. I am happy to have one less distraction in my daughter's education. Attend just one open house and meet the confident girls that come out of this education and you'll be sold.


Our Lady Of The Elms High School 3

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
It has been my experience as a parent that some love The Elms while others leave in frustration. While it is difficult to categorize who will love the school versus those who will not., it seems to be prefered by those who enjoy the status appeal of "The Elms" and can deal with the social politics of a small, all girls, school. In my opinion, if ever in your life you were in a situation that made you feel like the proverbial boy who said "The Emporer has no clothes", the place is probably not for you.

Our Lady Of The Elms High School 5

Posted November 26, 2010
- a community member
I am currently in 7th grade at this school. I love it! I have been here since I was around 4 years old. I am taking a high school math course even though I am 12. The small class size allows us to have fun and be ourselves around our friends. There is very little "girl-drama" and we usually don't run into problems. The homework level is moderate. There are so many clubs I can join. I am on school newspaper, Power of the Pen, Asian Club, and Math Counts/Math Club. I also am in the school choir and played volleyball last year at the elementary school. The Elms really does prepare you for high school. I love that the middle school is in the same building as the high school, so we can always just walk down the hall and see your friends who are older than you. The teachers are amazing and enthusiastic about what they teach. I make so many new friends each year! Overall, this school is great, and I love every day of it.

Our Lady Of The Elms High School 4

Posted October 19, 2010
- a community member
I received a great education! It's wonderful as a young lady to grow up & see powerful women in charge!


Our Lady Of The Elms High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
A better high school education than most will receive in college

Our Lady Of The Elms High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Amazing place for young women the learn!!!!!

Our Lady Of The Elms High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
Amazing place for woman to thrive!


Our Lady Of The Elms High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful education that builds the confidence and talents of the young women who attend the shcool

Our Lady Of The Elms High School 5

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
Take a select group fo motivated students (with successful parents and/or parents who are making sacrifices to pay the relatively high tuition) and high test scores will follow. The school ranks among the top twenty in the state based on this formula. One may argue that if many public schools were given only students of this caliber that they could surpass the achievement, but the real world of high schools offers many distractions. The Elms High School understands it's role well, and provides the quiet studious environment for a small segment who desire (and can pay for) it. I'm not saying that these girls have no fun, but they have made a choice to forgo the various forms of prototypcial high-school social events - from football games to vibrant hallways - for the peaceful serenety of OLE. And, it delivers.

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of The Elms High School
1375 West Exchange Street, Akron, OH  44313
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (330) 867-0880
Last modified Our Lady Of The Elms High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top