Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Archbishop Hoban High School

Private | 9-12 | 856 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Akron

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $42,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2013

My son has a learning disability and would not be served by the public school - the teacher's couldn't be bothered. He has more than thrived at Hoban and now is a senior with scholarship and honors program invitations from top tier colleges. He does not play sports but has definitely found a niche in other areas (service, drama and tv production). The teachers truly care about educating the whole child. A wonderful balance of individual attention, extra-curricular opportunities, high expectations and fun. I credit Hoban high school for the wonderful person he is becoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

the school has a great academic program, a racially mixed student body, a music and art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This rating and review system is ridiculous. Anyone who has lived in Akron, knows that Hoban is one of the best College Prep / Honors Schools in the STATE, not just the city. There are tough standards just to get in! Hoban is most competitive in Math, Science, and Literature/Journalism. 98% College Acceptance Rate, and more than 90% enroll in College each year. Example Institutions include: Princeton, Holy Cross, Notre Dame, Boston College and John Carroll. Many successful business leaders in Ohio are Hoban Graduates. Many community leaders send their children to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2009

they give transpertation to anyone close to a public highnschool with great academics this is the school to go to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

No diversity??? Numerous students travel more than 40 minutes a day to get to this school from different counties and vastly different communities. There are students whose parents are so rich that they pay someone to cook and students whose parents are poor and may not have anything to cook all under the same roof thanks to the wonderful financial aid program that is in place. The great thing is that they all get along and learn and respect one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

there is no diversity. everyone is the same. the accelerated academics is not as good as the accelerate programs at public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

excellent in academics, character development, and overall sports programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Academically superior with a great sports program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2005

We're the parents of one graduate and one current junior and are extremely pleased. Academically, Hoban completely prepared our eldest to attend a top 20 university where he continues to thrive. The faculty sincerely care about these kids yet they have very high expectations of them - they really push them to achieve. Kids don't seem to put each other in boxes here, and we don't see much in the way of peer pressure, either. Hoban is a family in the truest sense of the word. The president, Brother Ken Haders, is a benevolent dictator. He is a true advocate for teens and you can tell he enjoys this age group, yet he will be tough when it's best for the student. The kids seem to really like and respect him (and all the Brothers on staff). Finally, Hoban just plain makes good people. These kid have a conscience and are good citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have a senior and a freshman at hoban now. I have been very happy there. The colleges are very impressed with my senior's education and his scores as a result of education at Hoban. Is it perfect? Life isn't perfect but the lessons my children have learned at Hoban will help them in the REAL world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2004

As a parent of a graduate, I was not impressed by the the quality of the teachers at Hoban, particularly in foreign language, economics, religion and mathmatics. Walking into the school on several occasions, I always found teachers screaming at students. It is very easy to discuss the quality of the Hoban student when anyone with qualities other than the desired is dismissed. The principal does NOT know all of the parents, let alone the students. All communication regarding the school is very controlled so as not to reveal the true problems. These are the types of issuesthat the alumni do not know exist because the principal and administrators are very good at covering them up so as to protect donations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

Teachers were good and school philosophy very strong. Hopefully they have dropped the tyrannical, anti-teacher principal Mrs. Beitting by now. I hope all parents will consider sending their children to Hoban for a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

I am an alum from the class of 1958,I have been a financial supporter of Hoban, a member of the Board, and an employer of Hoban graduates. This is a top quality school and has been since its beginnings in the mid 1950's. Many of my classmates have distinguished themselved in their careers as professionals of all types in business, education, public service and in the religious life. I recommend your considering Hoban, without reservation; and am cponfident that your son or daughter will be well served by the dedicated faculty and administration of this fine school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

As the parents of a senior, we believe Hoban has given our son the best possible education and training for the future. Given the choice between other private schools, we believe Hoban has the diversity, quality of teaching staff and leadership we were looking for in a school for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We sent both of our children to Hoban and we are very happy that we did. The sacrifice was well worth how our children have turned out as wonderful adults! Hoban gave them a foundation to a good life of faith and achievement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

All three of my children have either graduated from or are still attending Hoban. What a wonderful school. Atmosphere is very conducive to learning. There is a dress code, and discipline policies are enforced. Teachers are there both before and after school for any extra help that students need. Principal knows all the parents and more importantly, each child as an individual. Excellent math and science programs. Couldn't ask for a better education for my children. Oldest daughter's first year of college was a 'breeze' because she was so prepared for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Basically you have a choice: You can send your kid to a public high school, and you'll have a public high school kid who doesn't enjoy his high school or learn anything about life, or you can send your kid to Hoban, beyond a doubt the most pleasant experience of my life. What I wouldn't give to have that time back. The teachers were brilliant, creative, and fun. Students were encouraged to find ways of being individual without conforming to every other 'non-conformist.'
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 77%
Black 9% 19%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mary Anne Beiting
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (330) 773-9100

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Holy Cross Blvd
Akron, OH 44306
Website: Click here
Phone: (330) 773-6658

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT