Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garfield High School 4

Posted June 28, 2014
- a student
This will be my second year of going to this high school and I think people over exaggerate about it being a bad school. It lets u be something. Let's u be part of the family. Garfield has soo much potential and good students. They offer so many things.Don't let a few kids get to u. Oh and u should definitely join student council :)!!! You'll have fun in this school. At least I do.

Garfield High School 3

Posted October 17, 2010
- a student
As a student who currently attends Garfield, I can say that the school is in desperate need of help. There are some genuinely bright students and engaging teachers there that are being drowned out by all the chaos, which is why the school would be much better off if it were smaller. My third period class has 30 students in it and the teacher can hardly control any of them long enough to get far in the day's lesson. If you walk down the halls you can see sparkles of talent and intelligence; but, unless they're atheletes, they will never recieve any recognition.


Garfield High School 2

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Garfield High School 2

Posted March 10, 2010
- a student
I feel that Garfield High School could be MUCH better. I find that students in the 12th grade cannot even pronounce simple words. Word they should've learned in elementary or middle school. The principal (Dieringer) never demonstrates leadership. I once asked him a question about the school and he grew irritated and loud, saying that he only ran the school. Why was he to know about activities going on in it.? I was very displeased. The males in the school continue to droop their pants and hunt after females like prey. I can honestly say that by the time a female at Garfield reaches the 12th grades she will have endured some type of sexual harrassment. I am happy to say that I have made a good name for myself by being a top scholar. But , Garfield will not bring forth many successful adults in the future.

Garfield High School 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Garfield High School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Garfield High School 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a former student
This is a wonderful school with outstanding teachers....very highly recommended.... Shawn Ishmael

Garfield High School 5

Posted November 22, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Garfield High School 5

Posted November 04, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garfield High School
435 North Firestone Blvd, Akron, OH  44301
(330) 773-6831
Last modified Garfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garfield High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top