Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buchtel High School

Public | 9-12 | 718 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2013

This school sucks im sorry but as a student at Buchtel High School this school has way to many disruptive children new children dont feel welcome and there is a bullying problem that is never addressed and the teachers start just as many fights and arguments as the students do it is wild at BHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2012

I hope the teaching of math and science at this school are stronger than their English grammar and spelling appear to be since nobody - not even the teachers know the proper spelling for their school mascot. Your school mascot is a gryphon.


Posted October 20, 2009

I believe overall Buchtel is a good school. There are some changes that need to take place. But those changes can only be implemented if parents become involved and students begin to take ownership of their education. Buchtel is definately a school on the rise
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I love my alma mater because of the years I spent there and what it means to me and my community. I am a Griffon for Life!!!! Go Griffs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

It is my alma mater. It is where I work, and where teachers care about and provide extraordinary opportunities for students beyond the daily education we provide. Our students are national scholarship winners, and future scientist already engaged in our research university's college programs while still in high school. There is still so much more to be done to make sure that all of our students go as far as their abilities allow them. I love them because indeed they want to go that far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The kids are great and the teachers are fantastic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Our Griffin is going to rise and take to the skies! Parents are very involved in their children's education. Teachers receive great support from principals and other teachers! Now, if I could just learn my way around this a-mazing building...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

Love the kids, love the staff, we are working hard to be the best school in Akron!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

The current staff and administration have invested time and effort to be consistent with the rules and expectations changing the school culture to minimize disruptions and improve academic climate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Buchtel has made great strides in the last year and we hope to make many more.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

Great school to work in, family atmosphere! I love teaching here. Go Griffs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We are Akron's best kept secret. We have awesome teachers and students who care. Our scores went up across the board last year despite all the negative press. We are the only school in the district who met AYP last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Buchtel High is a wonderful school full of wonderfull people. Just the same as any other school, there are the handful that act out, but shouldn't be shut out. In previous years , i think that staff and students alike gave into the sense of failure many had of the school. Since about 2005, the school 'under new management' has been changing its ways. even the 'misfits' have a place they feel they can fit in, and actually get the education that is provided for them. I graduated in 2007, with a nine month old son, ranked #4 in my class. I am attending The University of Akron on a full ride. I'm majoring in English in Secondary Education, with a minor in Womens Studies. Many former Griffs are doing well, and Buchtel has polished us all into well-rounded young adults. Its seems that this will just keep getting better!!!


Posted August 28, 2008

well, i am a proud senior at buchtel, and i believe it is an excellent school. it is unfortunate that a few individual would receive the attention for the school as a whole. Buchtel is more than a few people who have no purpose at all. If people took the time to know all the students and not let those they jus so happen to see influence their overall opinions, then they would see the school as i see. an excellent place with a warm group of people that serve the community and a group of students who seek the higher education that a lot of people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

My name is Telissa Smith, and I am currently attending John R. Buchtel high school. I am a senior and will be graduating on June 4, 2008. I have been attending Buchtel ever since my sophomore year, and to be honest; I have never found a more welcoming place for education and family than I have at Buchtel. I have learned alot from being at a school where people may think nothing but negativs things about us. Well, Go Griffs! This school has changed my life, and I have grown stronger each day, formed bonds with many people, and gained experience. I love this school, and will always be a 'GRIFF', no matter where God takes me. The teachers and students are great people, others tend to judge that we may not have much, but we have eachother and that is all that matters.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2008

Buchtel is a very good school. We have good teachers, and good students. The thought of people doughting us, makes us want to prove them wrong.. Go Griffins...
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2006

I am very pleased with the strong work values that are being stressed at Buchtel.The principal has made a stand for our children and demands that our kids succeed. I encourage everyone to take a second look at Buchtel. Way to go Griffins! Also pay close attention to our girls sports the Volleyball Team and Basketball Team will give you a show. Being a parent of a Senior and a Sophmore I stand behind them and the school 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

This school is in transition. That means that Buchtel has a clean slate and the priviledge to be only as good as the parents and administration. With that in mind, the best is yet to come for future Buchetelites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I think buchtel high school is a great school, people don't relize how much we have come up in our academic's and in our extracuriculars, I love my school and would never never ever choose another school over mine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2005

I think it's an great school. many may not see that but they don't see the potenial it has, instead of critizing it with what you think see for yourself. these kids have alot of things going for them in football, Basketball, Cheerleading, especialy in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female46%
Male60%
Black, non-Hispanic52%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled8%
Non-disabled62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female78%
Male66%
Black, non-Hispanic72%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled24%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students43%
Female35%
Male51%
Black, non-Hispanic42%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled12%
Non-disabled49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female52%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled8%
Non-disabled67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled35%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
84 (2011)
 
73 (2010)
 
86 (2009)
 
81 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

63%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

81%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 16%
White 3% 74%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 23%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sonya L. Gordon
Fax number
  • (330) 873-3307

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1040 Copley Rd
Akron, OH 44320
Phone: (330) 873-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT