Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


Amelia Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a community member
The new school building will be opening gor the 2010-2011 shool year!! It is beautiful!

Amelia Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten class and I love the fact of the information he brings home. The teacher is so hands on with the parents. And I'm glad about the new school opening next year, it'll be even better then.


Amelia Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
I have two children at this school. Yes, the building is getting replaced finally, but it's the lack of education happening in this building that is a problem. All learning is rote learning- which isn't truely learnign anything. The kids can pass a test to get the building rated excellent, but they aren't really learning anything. The reading curriculum is a reading intervention- not a curriculum. This completely slows students down and is so boring. There are hardly any hands on activities, all worksheets. Some of the teachers are in serious need of professional development and better training. I like that the school is trying to involve more parents and more activities as a community. I just wish they would step up expectations and return the learning to the students, not just how to pass a test.

Amelia Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Amelia Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Amelia Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
Amelia Elementary earned an Excellent Rating for the 2007-08 school year from the State of Ohio! The teaching and support staff cannot be beat. They are absolutely the best.

Amelia Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2007
- a parent
I am so happy with this school. I am in and out of the school on a weekly basis and am so impressed with the friendly staff. I also am extreamly impressed with the involvement of the Principle. She is always busy with a smile on her face. It seems that all the children just love her. My son came into this year with difficulty in reading and has excelled exponentially. Thank you. However the condition of the school greatly concerns me. The school is beyond repair, the parking is another issue. I am and will be supportive of building our children and future children a new improved school. ;)

Amelia Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
My son is in 2nd grade and has had a wonderful experience at Amelia. The staff is caring and committed! They are invested and passionate about teaching. However the building is a disgrace!


Amelia Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Amelia Elementary School 3

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
Amelia Elementary is staffed with great teachers and administrators. The problem is the school however. The school is beyond repair. The focus should be on education but I believe most days it is mostly just about getting through the day with out a circuit breaking or someone falling on the old steep stairs. The community defeated the bond to build a new school which sends the message that every body needs to just keep plugging along. The focus is on passing efficiency tests and doing the status quo. There isn't room for excellence. There is very little opportunity for any student achieving at an advanced level since so much is focused on those below level. Those below level are just getting by test to test. Parents are not very involved. The same group of volunteers are doing all the activities. Everyone thinks they don't have time. It is a sad school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amelia Elementary School
5 East Main St, Amelia, OH  45102
(513) 943-3800
Last modified Amelia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amelia Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.