Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leighton Elementary School

Public | 3-5 | 640 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

I don't understand how they get the ratio of 18 students per teacher. My child has NEVER been in a class with less than 26 students, which, in my opinion is too many.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

not good at all, when i went there 3 years ago, i was struggling really hard in all subjects, i then had to go to tutoring it was so hard. i was bullied by everybody in the school, i only had 1 friend. this school is very hard i really struggled. the teachers were very mean and strict. the kids are very rude and mean. Aurora has a very bad school system. and only the rich kids get treated well. the remainder get harassed. this school was an absolute nightmare for me. ---Submitted by a student.


Posted August 11, 2012

worst school ever, i was beaten, bruised, and bullied by other kids there, the education there is very hard, i had to have tutoring it was so hard! the kids there are very mean and disrespectful. i do not reccomend this school at all.


Posted February 11, 2009

I want to clear up something in another parent's review: Team teaching means TWO teachers, hence 25:1, not 50:1, and it's used to maximize the learning in the classroom, putting students of similar strengths together for different subjects. Please take that review with a grain of salt, as it sounds a little like sour grapes. Aurora has a phenomenal school system, and I have been more and more pleased with the schools as my children are growing. The parents are involved and welcomed. I feel very lucky that we moved here, and have nothing but good things to say about the schools and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

While the school does seem focused on hitting the goals set by the state exams - those state exams are testing baseline performance in mathematics and reading. So if you think a laser like focus on reading and math is good you will not be disappointed. Although my child is in the third grade and I have not been to all the classrooms in the school, I don't know where you could put 50 kids except for the gym and cafeteria. All the classrooms I have seen have space for about 20 children (plus or minus five) Although I do not volunteer I know parent's regularly participate in my child's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

I had high hopes and had heard nothing but positive about the school when we came to Aurora. I cannot stress enough what a disappointment the administration and teaching was for my child. There are many extra programs available, which is a plus. The academics focus solely on achieving state testing scores and the teachers who achieve those scores are regarded highly by the administration regardless of their concern for the individual child. PTO is active, but parents are typically not welcome in the classroom. Many of the classrooms are team-teaching classrooms and there are upwards of 50+ children all together throughout a large portion of the day and both teachers aren't necessarily in the room at the same time. A teacher to student ratio of 50:1 doesn't seem conducive to learning. It is a very big disappointment given all the support the families give this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

This school is amazing! Teacher's are dedicate to the children. There are (free) tutors (in most subjects)for student's to utilize. The educational assistance is abundant. Not only are there tutors, there are clubs and there are numerous volunteer opportunities for the kids as well. We regret moving but were glad for the time spent in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

The quality of education at Leighton is terrific. There are programs to meet the needs of all students, whether they have learning disabilities or are gifted or fall into the middle. Students have access to band, orchestra, or general music twice weekly, as well as P.E. twice and art once weekly. 5th graders can join the choir if they choose. The PTO has a high level of participation in the school as well as teachers using parents for help in the classroom. It's a great place and I'm proud to send my children to Leighton!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled69%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled61%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled87%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled59%
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
105 (2011)
 
106 (2010)
 
105 (2009)
 
103 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 74%
Black 3% 16%
Asian 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 10%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dana Lambacher
Fax number
  • (330) 562-2265

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 Aurora Hudson Rd
Aurora, OH 44202
Phone: (330) 562-2209

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT