Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leighton Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Except for the fact that schools are 'incentified' for their test scores- therefore they "teach to test"- the education my 2 children received is pretty much as good as anywhere. My 'average' score is more based on their 'total experience'. Unless you live in a $1MM culdesac house, your child will be viewed as an 'outsider' or 'outcast' by the rich, spoiled, kids that are flat out mean to new kids. Sounds like a sob-story, but trust me. If you choose to go to Aurora schools, you'll find out.

Leighton Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
1st-6th grade students average 30 minutes per night. Quite a bit if you ask me, but that's a sign of the times now days.


Leighton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
They try to help kids treat each other with respect and kindness, but when it comes down to it, parental financial support overcomes everything.

Leighton Elementary School 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
I don't understand how they get the ratio of 18 students per teacher. My child has NEVER been in a class with less than 26 students, which, in my opinion is too many.

Leighton Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2012
- a community member
not good at all, when i went there 3 years ago, i was struggling really hard in all subjects, i then had to go to tutoring it was so hard. i was bullied by everybody in the school, i only had 1 friend. this school is very hard i really struggled. the teachers were very mean and strict. the kids are very rude and mean. Aurora has a very bad school system. and only the rich kids get treated well. the remainder get harassed. this school was an absolute nightmare for me. ---Submitted by a student.


Leighton Elementary School 1

Posted August 11, 2012
- a community member
worst school ever, i was beaten, bruised, and bullied by other kids there, the education there is very hard, i had to have tutoring it was so hard! the kids there are very mean and disrespectful. i do not reccomend this school at all.

Leighton Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
I want to clear up something in another parent's review: Team teaching means TWO teachers, hence 25:1, not 50:1, and it's used to maximize the learning in the classroom, putting students of similar strengths together for different subjects. Please take that review with a grain of salt, as it sounds a little like sour grapes. Aurora has a phenomenal school system, and I have been more and more pleased with the schools as my children are growing. The parents are involved and welcomed. I feel very lucky that we moved here, and have nothing but good things to say about the schools and staff.

Leighton Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
While the school does seem focused on hitting the goals set by the state exams - those state exams are testing baseline performance in mathematics and reading. So if you think a laser like focus on reading and math is good you will not be disappointed. Although my child is in the third grade and I have not been to all the classrooms in the school, I don't know where you could put 50 kids except for the gym and cafeteria. All the classrooms I have seen have space for about 20 children (plus or minus five) Although I do not volunteer I know parent's regularly participate in my child's class.


Leighton Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
I had high hopes and had heard nothing but positive about the school when we came to Aurora. I cannot stress enough what a disappointment the administration and teaching was for my child. There are many extra programs available, which is a plus. The academics focus solely on achieving state testing scores and the teachers who achieve those scores are regarded highly by the administration regardless of their concern for the individual child. PTO is active, but parents are typically not welcome in the classroom. Many of the classrooms are team-teaching classrooms and there are upwards of 50+ children all together throughout a large portion of the day and both teachers aren't necessarily in the room at the same time. A teacher to student ratio of 50:1 doesn't seem conducive to learning. It is a very big disappointment given all the support the families give this school system.

Leighton Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2007
- a parent
This school is amazing! Teacher's are dedicate to the children. There are (free) tutors (in most subjects)for student's to utilize. The educational assistance is abundant. Not only are there tutors, there are clubs and there are numerous volunteer opportunities for the kids as well. We regret moving but were glad for the time spent in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leighton Elementary School
121 Aurora Hudson Rd, Aurora, OH  44202
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (330) 562-2209
Last modified Leighton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top