Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Main Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 803 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

With a brand new entrance this year, the safety concerns mentioned earlier have been fixed. We've been here two years. We are a military family and I'm very active in the school as a volunteer and PTO member. I've NEVER once seen an example where the children were asked to sit while an issue was investigated before pulling the alarm. We've had a few minor incidents this year and every time they err on the side of caution. The teachers are great. I can recommend Pugnale, Horney, Barnaba, Callahan, and Thompson. The librarian, Mrs. Pratt is top notch! The Principal Mr. D is caring and firm if the situation merits. He truly cares about his students and his school. The front office ladies are always there to answer questions or point you in the right direction. Smart Boards in each classroom and with the passing of the Levy this year, students will see more specials during the week (Gym, Art, etc). And each student will be getting an I-pad issued to them starting 2014/2015. If you are considering this school, please join the PTO. It is a hard working organization that brings so much to the school! We are PCSing this year and will miss Main!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

This school as a whole is horrid. The entire school uses negative reinforcement instead of positive and when asked to incorporate it, they (teacher and counselor) were dumbfounded at how to do it. The teacher wrote off my child because he wasn't the "normal" type of child she's used to having. Constantly asked us to "control" him while he's in her classroom. And finally, started to demand that he be put on medication even though her classroom was the only classroom that he was exhibiting focus issues. His other teachers or coaches have never had this issue with him. There was also the incident regarding the principal. My son got onto the bus instead of the daycare van and when we talked with the principal, he told my son that he was a "bad boy" and told him I was disappointed and angry with him. Not true, I was angry with the school. He never apologized and took responsibility. Blamed my son for all fault. The school never told us this was a risk even though they knew of it since the beginning of the school year. There was no concern from the principal or teacher for his well being. This is our first year at Main since we moved and it has been a horrible experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Both of my kids attended this school for 3 years during our tour at the WPAFB. I think highly of the principle and the vice principle. I have witnessed how much they care about the children's safety. They have gone beyond the call of duty. I only wish this school had a better dismissal system and a safer entrance. Most teachers we had were great. The DARE program was very well organized. Field days could be a bit more organized, though. Overall, it is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

This school is wonderful. The teacher are caring and help the students (my kids) thrive for their best. They have many activities that are fantastic. They help the students involved with everything! You will love this school inside and out! (P.s They have a wonderful anti-bullying program!!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

We have been very happy with Main and all of Beavercreek City Schools. The teachers and principals are helpful and caring. The parental involvement is incredible in all the schools. I would recommend, and have, to anyone moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

Main is the WORST school my children and I have ever encountered. The worksheet-based curriculum provides zero exploration in science, no opportunity for creativity in writing, rejects individualized instruction in reading and the 50-80 worksheets a week have successfully squelched both my 2nd and 1/2 day K daughters' love for learning in the school. Computers remain under tarps or are broken and the only 'technology integration' has been to take a typing course. The administration is loathe to work with the parents, leave students unsupervised and to their own devices during indoor recess (~70% of the year so far), and has ordered the fire alarm to be silenced and students to remain in their class rooms while the staff go looking for the fire! I wish I was just a disgruntled parent who doesn't know any better... but as a National Board Certified Educator who has taught in 4 schools in 3 different states, I feel I have enough experience to say that this school should never be recommended to any family moving into this area. I wish there was the option to give ZERO stars --because that is what this school earned. only the PTA earned more for their constant pleas for money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

The school levy was voted and passed this November. This means the over-crowding at the schools will be alleviated and renovations will be done at Main. There's lots of parent involvement and the teachers I've come in contact with are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

This is has been a great school so far for my children. I have one with special needs and on that is typical. The two teachers that we have had so far have been excellent. The teacher who has my special needs son was very aware of the areas he needed extra attention and support. She also realized his talents/gifts and figured out how to optimize/challenge him. The principal is wonderful because he is highly visible and always hands on. The school is crowded and there are portables out front but Beavercreek just received another year of 'excellent' rated schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I have had a wonderful experience with Main; however, I think anyone who is moving to the area and considering this school needs to be aware that the school is extremely overcrowded and the town has voted the bond issue down TWICE. That means that the overcrowding is not going to get better. The teachers, parents and administration are wonderful, but as more children come into this school, the classes are going to get more crowded and the solution at the moment is just to get more trailers to put out front. There are other great schools in Beavercreek you should consider. Shaw, Parkwood and Fairbrook are nearby. This is a serious issue that is going to have to be dealt with...not just for Main Elementary but also with the Middle school and the High school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Main elementary level of parental involvement is excellent. The academic programs are great. The gifted program is lacking but better than nothing at all. I think that the program could be much better and would be if the district would provide better funding. The school itself does not provide sports but there are many opportunities in Beavercreek to participate in any sport desired. The extracurricular activities are minimal, as you might expect for an elementary school. My children have loved Main and done very well there. The principle is outstanding and the teachers excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

I think Main Elem. is a great school. My son is in 2nd grade and has went from satisfactory to over achieving in two of his subjects. That makes me happy and proud. The staff cares about it students and parents. The Teachers are exceptional. My only concern is why the schools are suffering with the overcrowding??? We need to get a better budget and start adding to these schools. We have great schools we just need more room!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I've been very impressed with the progress my 1st grader has made at Main...despite the crowded classrooms....they are getting good results. The school relies heavily on parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled38%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial>=95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled81%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled71%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetBelow
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
104 (2011)
 
102 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
103 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 74%
Asian 5% 2%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 3% 16%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2942 Dayton Xenia Rd
Beavercreek, OH 45434
Phone: (937) 429-7588

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Valley Elementary School
Beavercreek, OH


Dayton Islamic School
Beavercreek, OH



Shaw Elementary School
Beavercreek, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT