Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shaw Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 702 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

My 4 children have beeb attending Shaw Elementary School for 3 years now and I couldn't be happier. The quality of education, teachers and admnistration is outstanding. I have 2 special needs students and the accomodations, understanding, and care provided to our children has been wonderful. I honestly cannot think of anything that they need to do to improve. Just keep doing what you're doing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

The learning atmosphere has been a fantastic experience for our children. The principal always welcomes parent input during PTO meetings is approachable and heavily involved with the school's daily happenings. The music program is FANTASTIC and has offed our children exceptional programs compared to other schools in the area. The school is heavy into character development, creative and solid learning. We have felt so blessed to have our children attend Shaw - it is truly one of the best elementary schools we've chosen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

The school is nice, principle was very helpful and concern. My son first year here was wonderful. His 1st grade teacher never mention that my son may have problem. He did very well in her class. She have her class under control and able to provide quit time for the kids to work on. Second grade was very different, his teacher send him to English second language class, want him check for ADHD (negative for ADHD) want to put him in special Edu. program. Say that he is very behind on everything. I decide to sit in the class and that day I observed that there was not a quite momemt when I was there, kids are walking around chatting. My son still in his seat but unable to focus. The class was loud. We switch school. He have no problem in another school going on year #2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

My daughter came home so many times enthusiastic about what she learned that day at Shaw. I've been very impressed with the teaching style and commitment to enriching each student's educational experience. The Character Education program is outstanding. The art program is exceptional. The one area I wish to see improved on is more time devoted during Science. Shaw is the best elementary school our children have attended (military). We love Beavercreek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

Good school. Heavy into black history. Curriculum left my 2nd generation daughter first insisting she was african american followed by thinking we owed everything we owned to the african americans. Quite literally... even though her grandparents immigrated here, she believes what we have built here was on the back of slaves. She has no idea who Ben Franklin, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson or even Clara Barton are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

My daughter loves this school! She has been there so far for K-3 grade. I have loved all her teachers. They work with her on what she needs help with and they are very good at communicating with me which I have done with all 4 of them so far by email on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

My 3 sons attend Shaw and my daughter attended from 1st-5th grade. The school's programs & teaching staff have leaped from great to fantastic in the last 5 years. It acknowledges & supports different learning styles on an individual level. Most of the teachers are very responsive to any parental concerns & inputs. Parental involvement with programs & volunteer efforts generally run high. The cultural diversity & awareness emphasis are exemplary. The current principal (2007-08) is exceptional--He is caring, yet manages high standards for the well-being of the students. Considering the turnover rate due to the Air Force base in close proximity, the school & area is a very tight, caring community overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Our son loves the encouragement he gets with reading, and is excited about all the new things they are learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

The school is great. Teachers are very caring. My son loves to go to class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Decent enough school - no really big problems. But aside form that, the school is nice (even with having to deal with the 'growing pains' of the area) and the staff is great. By far the best community of the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Nice kinder...only half day. Great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

This school is really great. My son has attended part of first, all of second, and all of third here. The class sizes are managable. Teachers that come here typically stay. The principal is concerned about your input. They have a gifted resource program. This school district also has and awesome preschool program for those in early intervention and balanced with typical developing children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Outstanding academic program. The student body has consistently scored well above average on normaltive exams. National School of Excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled62%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled77%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islander94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled60%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanic92%
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled73%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female85%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islander80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled36%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetBelow
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
105 (2011)
 
103 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
102 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 74%
Asian 14% 2%
Black 6% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 12%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Dena Doolin
Fax number
  • (937) 429-7690

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3560 Kemp Rd
Beavercreek, OH 45431
Phone: (937) 429-7610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Dayton Islamic School
Beavercreek, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT