Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit Academy

Private | K-8 | 138 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bedford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $68,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

My children are receiving an excellent education at Holy Spirit Academy! They are learning way more than students in other schools at the same grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

Holy Spirit Academy puts their own self interest above the students. Lacks leadership and the ability to engage parents and students to strive for excellence. There are wonderful teachers/staff who are doing their best with the resources available but due to poor leadership this is an impossible task. Some teachers struggle with relating to and engaging urban students transferring from other districts. If this contines Holy Spirit will be closing in the need future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Holy Spirit Academy is a great school. Everyone including the principal, the teachers, the cafeteria staff, the librarian and the nurse has the child's best interest in mind. Each student who attends Holy Spirit Academy is made to feel welcome and part of a caring community. Holy Spirit Academy is a school that provides a child an opportunity to succeed and be the best he/she can be. The staff at Holy Spirit works together in a Christian atmosphere and teaches the boys and girls that the Holy Spirit is living among us and each of us needs to use our gifts and talents to the fullest. Holy Spirit Academy is a place where your child can grow spiritually and academically. I love HSA and I know you will to. Come and visit us and become part of our school, you will not be disappointed..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2012

The Kindergarten and 1st Grade Teachers at this school are excellent!!!! I would recommend them to anyone. They have impressed me and the small class sizes are great as well :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

This is the worst school ever! The princial and the teachers don't know how to relate the Black children. I am removing my child asap!!!!!


Posted February 25, 2012

Holy Spirit Academy is a great school. Students of all diverse backgrounds are welcome and made to feel welcome by the principal, teachers and staff. The academic program does challenge the students to do their best. Leadership skills are stressed to make each student a productive member in society as well as in their spiritual life. Class prayer experiences are provided for all students within each grade level and as a school community. Holy Spirit Academy's mission is centered in the teachings of Jesus Christ. Come and experience the warmth to have your child surrounded by caring individuals who want him/her to do and be the best he/she can. All students who put forth effort will receive the best education that is offered. Holy Spirit Academy is the place to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2011

I would not recommend this school to any parent. I did not pay attention to the comments left from other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

This school is an example of what kind of education that your child will receive when they attend a voucher school and you as a parent pay 5000.00 a year. Teachers quite in the middle of the school year because of a rude principle and the secretary had to teach class or site there in the room. The school is unorganized and my child learned no more than public school, should have saved my money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

The teachers are great. The principal is the problem. My child comes home describing how the principal yells and demeans her teacher in front of the whole class. There are several teachers that are not coming back next year 2011-2012. I am not sending my child back to the school not because of the teachers but because of the principal. She screams and yells at the students as well. She does not acknowledge her inappropriate behavior or attitude. Parents will continue to take their children out as long as she is the principal there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Holy Spirit Academy is a great school to send your son or daughter because my daughter and I love the school and the administration. It is a pleasure seeing her grow up in a school that still teaches and has good values and morals. I love that the school is a religious, diverse group of people because that is an important foundation for them when they grow up and have to join a diverse society as adults. Mrs Vejdovic is awesome and I take my hat off to her. May the Lord, keep blessing you and your staff. Much Love !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

Holy Spirit Academy's Principal believes in a quality education for each child that she is ultimately responsible for. Mrs. Vejdovec passes that message to the entire staff and to the student body through her actions and shared goals daily. Every staff member is expected to perform to the best of their ability. The same expectation is what the students are to strive for as well.


Posted March 1, 2010

Holy Spirit Academy is a great place to work. The faculty and staff are happy, supportive, and genuine. The principal is very encouraging and respectful to faculty members, parents, and students. The school holds high expectations and welcomes newcomers. It is a wonderful place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2010

Holy Spirit Academy is a great school. My child has been attending this school since it opened in 2004. The learning experience has been excellent. The teachers and staff are always there for you with answers and a positive attitude. The Principal is always looking for new ways to improve the school. This year she began a new service for the parents called Edline, this allows parents to go online and see their child's grades at any time. It's awesome! Regarding the previous postings that mention conduct referrals, they are a part of the discipline policy. I believe discipline is also a very important part of education, and that's why I send my child to HSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

It is a terrific school with excellent interaction and communication between students, parents, and staff. I highly recommend this school for any parent looking to improve their child's quality of education while providing an opportunity to learn in a spiritual environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I like the academics and extra's they offer but most of the staff seems to prejudice. This is my daughters second year. Thing are a little better with the teacher but the principal is not helpful at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

My son has been in this school since it opened. I've only had a problem with one of the teachers. She did send home allot of please sign and return papers. But other than her I have had an excellent time with HSA. They have great catholic values!! The office staff is teriffic. She always handles my calls and questions in a tiemly matter. I would advise everyone I know to send thier children to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

some of the teachers there don't give work back in time for students to correct it. the school is totall chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

I will vouch for these last 2 posters - the principal is very 'kurt' and puts the 'blame' of your concern on you. Yes, the conduct referals are used alot and yes, sometimes kids come home with conduct referals even when he/she did not do anything wrong. The acedemics are good, but ruined by stlye by some teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I would not send my child to this school it is not well put together and unorginized my chiled comes home with conducts every day and teachers blame students who dont do anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I would not send my chiled to this school it is not well put together and unorginized my chiled comes home with conducts every day and teachers blame students who dont do anything
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 77%
Black 48% 19%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sharon A. Vejdovec
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (440) 232-1534

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

370 Center Rd
Bedford, OH 44146
Website: Click here
Phone: (440) 232-1531

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Raymond Elementary School
Maple Heights, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT