Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale Primary School

Public | PK-3 | 332 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

I absolutely love Glendale primary school. My daughters have been challengedand their teachers go above and beyond to make sure that thing under stand. They have great technology. They also offer many after school program for an elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

This school only teaches the kids enough to pass the state tests. The older kids get alot of homework while the younger kids get a packet a week which they can complete in a day. It was hard to get my child enrolled in this school district coming from another district because they sent me on a run around. I was told it was because they have too many kids in the district. I was also told that I wasn't able to put my child at the other school, Central or change teachers because of this issue. The teacher recommended I should talk to my doctor about putting my child on meds. If all goes well I will not be in this district next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

My son attended this school in kindergarten for less than 3-4 months...we immediately took him out! He rarely brought homw work to supplement what he was suppose to learn in school. In addition, his teacher was not certified and had been a substitute in the district. We would occasionally come up and check up on him and his academics and he was always coloring, regardless what day and/or time we arrived. We noticed our son's interest in school decreasing because he was bored and wasn't actively engaged. We made a very good decision to withdraw him and enroll him in a private school. It is important to also check the District Report card, by doing so you will gain knowledge as to whether the school in in 'Academic Emergency,' 'Excelling,' etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

My daughter is in kindergarten, I absolutely love this school. She is really learning far past colors, and abc's. She is doing math assignments, counting change, spelling words, just like first and second grade work! I have friends with children her age, and they are not on her level of education at all! I love Mrs. Harris, she is fun and very hardworking when it comes to her class, every child gets her attention, and she truly makes sure no child falls behind. Mrs. Beach is an excellent principal, my daughter loves her too, she is very personable, and extremely good at what she does! Every teacher my daughter has is a household name, she is always talking about them, as if they live next door! Very excellent school, I will miss it as she progresses, great job Glendale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

My son is in 1st grade and is already at 3rd grade level math, the teachers are very involved with the students and the school has great incentive programs for good behavior, citizenship and class participation. I feel my son is getting an excellent education at Glendale. I have a friend with a 1st grader in another district, and her child's classes are behind my son's by over 2 months! He loves school and loves to learn, I attribute this to teachers and staff that encorage and inspire the students, we are very grateful to all these people for giving my son a postive foundation in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

My son has been a student at this school for 2 years. I feel as though the teachers, staff and principal make an effort to provide our children with a quality education. I am very proud and fortunate to have my son as a student at Glendale Primary School
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female68%
Male61%
Black, non-Hispanic63%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Disabled25%
Non-disabled80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female82%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic74%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled47%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
95 (2011)
 
95 (2010)
 
96 (2009)
 
87 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 16%
White 15% 74%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 22%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nora C. Beach
Fax number
  • (440) 439-3487

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 West Glendale St
Bedford, OH 44146
Phone: (440) 439-4227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Martin of Tours School
Maple Heights, OH




St. Monica School
Garfield Heights, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT