Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bexley Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bexley Middle School 5

Posted January 23, 2010
- a community member
BMS is an amazing school. Learning is taken very seriously, while fun activitys are always considered. Fighting between students is very rare, and everyone feels safe coming to this school. The block schedual means more time to work on homework, and a less stressful day. Through out the day each and every student has several chances to meet with any teacher of their choice. Teachers are fair and work hard to make sure every student learns what they need to learn. In addition to all this, the school offers many perks. Free lunch period, fun sports and student lounge are just a few of the fun options.


Bexley Middle School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bexley Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bexley Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bexley Middle School 4

Posted October 27, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bexley Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2007
- a parent
My son 8th grader recently said that while many of his teachers know their subjects very deeply (three of his teachers have PhDs) they are not necessarily effective- developing caring relationships with students, or conducting stimulating classes. Bexley's block scheduling can (and often does) mean an 85 minute lecture. My son, very bright and mature, doesn't have a close relationship to any teacher. As parents, we seldom get any feedback from teachers. On the plus side, there are several opportunities each day to get help or review information, and the intramural offerings at lunch have meant a great deal to my son. His gifted language arts often seems too focused on SAT vocabulary rather than critical thinking, writing and exploring literature. The school focus on testing is the fault of state and national accountability measures. Nevertheless, this is a community that values learning and kids.

Bexley Middle School 4

Posted January 29, 2007
- a student
Many of the teachers do not get personally involved with the students, and many are quite distant when it comes to making sure the student has learned the lesson well. The curriculum is cold and uncaring, and the school is overrun with designer tag clad students. Even so, the rigorous honors math program is a plus, along with the gifted language arts class. If you really want your child to learn, you would be wise to fight for the honors math, language arts, and higher language classes. I'm a bit disappointed with the science department, because it's quite easy to coast right through. If you send your children to BMS, make sure they are in the fast-moving classes, because the lower classes are just not up to the desired standards. The current principal is doing a great job, an is slowly trying to pull everything together.


Bexley Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2007
- a parent
Since my son started 7th grade, it has been quite a challenge, but he has taken on the challenge well and stepped to achieve higher goals for himself. I feel the teachers have provided tremendous feedback and are always willing to give him further instruction upon his request.

Bexley Middle School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
Minority students are not adequately prepared, or school curriculum is not best suited for their needs/talents, even if the child has been reared in predominately upper middle class environments throughout academic career. Thus far, I am not impressed with the Bexley Schools. I have, however, been impressed with one teacher inparticular. Lang. Arts/Social Studies 8th grade teacher seems to give her all in preparing her classes. Other teachers seem to me to just 'be there' and expect the students to come to them versus the teachers intuitively sensing there may be difficulty with the student. Is the student comprehending each lesson? The student ran conference was a waste of time; I sit with my child daily and know what's going on. It's the teachers I needed to visit with.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bexley Middle School
300 South Cassingham Rd, Bexley, OH  43209
(614) 237-4277
Last modified Bexley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bexley Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.