Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brunswick High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 12, 2016
- a student
I would like to say a HUGE thank you to the Spanish department and the math department teachers. They were always there to help me whether it was with homework, understanding something, or even listening to me when I needed to talk about life situations outside of school. Some of them weren't even my teachers and they were still willing to help with whatever they could. I couldn't be more proud to say that I attended Brunswick High School.

Brunswick High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 12, 2016
- a student
The teachers at Brunswick High School always offer up their lunch, planning, and after school time to be sure you understand the content of the class to the best knowledge they have to offer. It's the students that choose not to attend these sessions for help that make the staff availability look bad.


Brunswick High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 12, 2016
- a student
While my work loads were extensive, do to my amount of college courses being taken, that does not mean all classes give too much homework.

Brunswick High School 5

Posted March 12, 2016
- a student
As a former student of Brunswick High School, and a future educator myself, I feel Brunswick has so much to offer to students! From the introduction of college courses, to a supportive staff, there isn't much Brunswick High School doesn't have to offer. After being out of school for 5 years, and watching my younger siblings go through their high school years here, I can only see improvements being made! This school district is much more than an education, it is a family!

Brunswick High School 1

Posted June 02, 2015
- a community member
This school is definitely not one I would recommend to have your child go to. The staff isn't very cooperative and I personally do not agree with the rules they have there. It seems as though the more rules they make, the worse the kids get. I also agree that Brunswick just tries to look good for the state and has no intentions of actually helping the students who really need the help. They definitely favor the kids who are on sports teams or in some type of club. The teachers don't really give any effort into helping the kids who are struggling and instead just adore the "perfect" students. There rarely is ever any punishment for the kids who actually break the rules. Bullying is a huge problem and nothing is ever done about it. You'd think after everything that's happened over the last couple years, they'd take those things into consideration. All they do is punish both kids and make the victim feel even more vulnerable. Or nothing is done at all. The counselors aren't helpful either. They never see you to talk to you and when they do, they never give any advice. My experience here has been horrible and I think homeschooling is a better option.


Brunswick High School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from here back in May and absolutely loved my 4 years here. There are a ton of extracurricular activities and sports' teams to get involved with. Not to mention the excellent staff and teachers. Of course there's going to be some teachers and other staff members that you don't like that much, but that's with every school. I think the best teacher by far is Mr. Maichrye. He teaches chemistry and he is excellent at what he does. You don't come across a lot of guys like him very often. He is a tremendous person to talk to and get to know better. He tells stories about his life often and likes to go off topic. The classes offered are also great. I think there are 12 AP courses and also several honors classes. The elective classes offered are second to none. If you get involved, you'll enjoy your time here. I met many great people and made tons of friends. The security here is top notch. They installed an advanced security system a couple of years ago and I always feel safe when I'm in there. They also adopted a new drill for an active threat in the building and we practiced it a couple of times and the teachers were trained in it.

Brunswick High School 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Very clicky, if your child is not on a sports team or involved in band,marching band they are treated as second class citizens! They can be bullied and when brought to the administrations attention they always find a way to punish the child that is being bullied and not the ones who are the bullies as they are more than likely on one of the sports teams, these students can do anything they want and are never punished, or only get a verbal reprimand. This needs to stop! All students should be treated the same as non sports, non club affiliated student. We all have the choice to treat each other with respect no matter if you are in a school activity or just someone who just goes to school to learn!

Brunswick High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great administration, staff and amazing marching band music program


Brunswick High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
In the 13 years since I moved into the area, I have seen Brunswick HS aggresively improve accademically and athletically.

Brunswick High School
no rating

Posted January 25, 2009
- a student
There are some very good teachers at this school, who want the best for their students and put a lot of time into achieving that. I am not sure if Mrs. Boucher is still around but she along with Mrs. Swartz are excellent english teachers. Mr. Dickson is also an outstanding teacher for the AP government class, after this class you will have a far better understanding of the government and be able to have a very intelligent conversation of politics. Mr. Maichyre is also a top notch Chemistry teacher and possibly the best teacher at this school, could not be a better fit for a high school classroom than this teacher

Nearby schools

Brunswick High School
3581 Center Rd, Brunswick, OH  44212
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (330) 273-0490
Last modified Brunswick High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top