Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Canton Montessori School

Private | PK-4 & ungraded | 99 students

Our school is best known for outstanding Montessori education.

 
 

Living in Canton

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $40,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2013

My son has been at Canton Montessori School for five years. He loves it there and we have loved everyone of his teachers. They truly care about him and our family. The one-on-one attention and the outstanding Montessori program has helped him to thrive academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

Would never send my child here. The leadership is poor and my child was told he was "bad". He was forced to be potty trained before he was ready. We ended up removing him, after 5-6 months of problems. From the first day at his new school we have had NO problems. Our story is very sad. Something at this school needs to be changed. I have now heard there are others with stories similiar to ours. So happy we got him out of there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

A wonderful learning environment that individualizes instruction for every student. Advanced, on-level, or needing intervention-all can be served in the same Montessori classroom. The multi age learning experiience builds personal accountiability and teamwork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

My son is in the second grade and absolutely thrives in the elementary program. The environment with both teachers and students fosters independance in learning, learning from other students, working together and allows each student to progress at their own pace. The teacher is a facilitator which is precisely what Montessori is about. The respect for the child is also a paramount characteristic of a Montessori environment which is what my son experiences daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I cannot believe how my son has thrived after only one year at Canton Montessori School. The staff has been wonderful to both us as parents, and especially my son. He seems to really enjoy going to school, and his development has amazed us. No politics, just good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

CMS is an outstanding learning facility. my daughter spent 8 years there and I wouldn't have wanted her to go anywhere eles. She tranistioned into a more traditional learning environment seamlessly. I would recomend CMS to any parent that is looking for a nurturing environment that treats each child as an individual. Thanks CMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

My child has an excellent teacher but I believe she is the only one in the school. Our experience with other teachers is harsh and belligerent. When we brought up one problem, we received no help and in fact, it was turned around on our child. There was nothing that was not what the school policy states and the teachers seem to lack any type of help if it requires problem resolution. Very disappointing when it comes to the money you are paying to be there to be treated like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

The Montessori method of teaching is unbelievable. The math skills my 4-year possesses as a result of this philosophy are amazing - he is working in thousands (something my older child did not learn until 4th grade). I love the respect given to the children, the diversity of their population and the love for learning that the children acquire
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 77%
Asian 16% N/A
Black 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Julie Stieber
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (330) 452-4721

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Our records show that the deadline was March 31, 2014, but you should contact the school in case the date has changed.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$1000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 15th Street Northwest
Canton, OH 44703
Website: Click here
Phone: (330) 452-0148

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT