Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Centerville, OH
Students enrolled: 2,749
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centerville High School 1

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
The high school teachers (majority not all) have a real attitude problem. There are a few males (Math Dept. teacher in particular) who think it's ok to take cell phones from students and peruse through them. This same teacher never addresses the students by a name, rather a number he assigns them!? There are some older females with bad attitudes (English department teacher), who are also known to bust a high GPA by purposely making it impossible to receive an A in their class. The same teacher has been written up multiple times, yet never fired. The principal in the East unit stepped in as principal after his dad held the seat. The kids don't have respect for him or the West unit principal. The dress code is enforced for certain kids while others get away with all sorts of violations. The fact the students are allowed to leave at lunch time is a disaster for everyone within city limits as the kids speed throughout neighborhoods. Kids on an IEP or 504 plan have a tough time with teachers who refuse to follow the plans 100%. Teachers are not helpful in keeping current with grades on the student and parent accessible web site. When asked about grades the teachers state they only have to contractually post grades 2x a quarter!? Need to talk with a teacher by phone? Forget it, it won't happen. After 3:15 the teachers are said to have left the building!? The younger, newer teachers have potential. They have good enthusiasm, yet they lack the experience needed to be effective in their teaching. Too many teachers give kids busy work while they themselves sit in front of classroom computers, online. I've had teachers email me at all hours of the school day and not just during planning periods!? Waste in this district is unreal!! There are more handouts given than need be given. What happened to kids using the pricey text books the districts purchases? Teachers hand them out on the first day of class stating they are only doing so in order to keep parents happy - but they won't be utilized!? The main problem with this district is they need to realize there is a difference between pride and arrogance. Once they figure it out the school will benefit as a whole. Until then it leaves much to be desired. Please think twice before sending your child to this district. Don't be fooled by money and appearances. Actually look into the mirror!

Centerville High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Students have lost respect for many of the teachers. Teachers at times act too much like a friend towards the students.


Centerville High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Kids are pretty much allowed to do anything they please without repercussion. Parents need to be stronger with discipline.

Centerville High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Too much competition amongst each other. It results in much back stabbing to get ahead.

Centerville High School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a student
If i could give 0 stars I could. This school is far too large so little attention is focused on students, and the attitude of faculty is impersonal ans uncaring. There is a larged and biased focus on athletics and no recognition for students who achieve academically or otherwise. Not all of the teachers are poor, but a good deal of them practice favoritism and don't try to hide it. When you go here it does not feel like a high school, it feels like an office building with classrooms and bosses that could not care less about your well-being and achievement.
1 person found this helpful


Centerville High School 2

Posted December 04, 2014
- a community member
Not as friendly as all these other reviews are claiming. Most of them aren't even students so they wouldn't truthfully know I used to go here take my word.
3 people found this helpful

Centerville High School 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
Excellent. Centerville H.S. truly cares about their students. As parents, we couldn't be happier. From day one of our son's junior year, and now in his senior year, he's having a wonderful and rewarding experience in his short attendance at Centerville H.S. He's getting the help he needs. He's encouraged and challenged to be better by both teachers and students. Forming great relationships. Friendly atmosphere and limitless boundaries. Moving our son to Centerville H.S. was the best thing we could have done for our son... He's growing academically and athletically at Centerville H.S. Thanks to all the faculty, coaches, staff, and student... WELL DONE! Derrick & Hope Goldsmith

Centerville High School 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
I could not be more pleased with the education my two children have received at Centerville High School. (Our students did not attend Centerville City Schools until high school). There are so many options for students at all levels, and the curriculum allows for a wide range of interests, too. Love the career tech path that allows students to learn and sample a specific field. Top notch teachers. Administration provides proper amounts of communication.


Centerville High School 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a community member
I am a retired teacher and school administrator, plus I substitute teach at Centerville High School occasionally. I must say I am very impressed with quality and behavior of the students. The teachers and the administration are very professional. Recently the College Board recognized CHS for their work in increasing access to AP courses and for the percentage of students earing scores of 3 (out of 5) or higher on AP exams. The College Board is a not for profit group that promotes college readiness. AP classes are college-level classes and a 3 or higher can earn college credit or advanced college credit. This is a GREAT SCHOOL.

Centerville High School 1

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
Elementary schools are great. High school is horrible. Lots of favoritism with students. Principals are horrible. They do not care about the students at all. Looking at home schooling so my child can get a good education. You cant seem to get it here.
4 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centerville High School
500 East Franklin St, Centerville, OH  45459
(937) 439-3500
Last modified Centerville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centerville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top