Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Centerville, OH
Students enrolled: 2,749
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centerville High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
It's a highly competitive environment, so by nature, these kids need to develop these skills. I believe they are going to help my daughter in college.

Centerville High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
Yes, I don't believe the school accepts disrespectful behavior. However, if you have a student that thinks the teachers have to earn their respect before they will behave in class, there will be problems. Kids here are expected to behave and be respectful.


Centerville High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was involved in a variety of groups over her four years at CHS in which teamwork was key. I have also personally known of several students who have gone out of their way to assist others. My son was there four years ago, and had some issues with these things, and his unit principle still asks how he's doing when I see him.

Centerville High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
I believe these values are highly encouraged and students are rewarded for positive behavior. However, there's not much tolerance for those who like to rebel and cause problems.

Centerville High School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
We've lived elsewhere, and I can tell you that you can't BUY this type of education in many communities. There are countless opportunities for all of the students and the staff does all they can to encourage pride and confidence among the students.


Centerville High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a 2015 graduate and I was very impressed by how the teaches, particularly in history, math and science, were able to engage her int he subjects.

Centerville High School 1

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
The high school teachers (majority not all) have a real attitude problem. There are a few males (Math Dept. teacher in particular) who think it's ok to take cell phones from students and peruse through them. This same teacher never addresses the students by a name, rather a number he assigns them!? There are some older females with bad attitudes (English department teacher), who are also known to bust a high GPA by purposely making it impossible to receive an A in their class. The same teacher has been written up multiple times, yet never fired. The principal in the East unit stepped in as principal after his dad held the seat. The kids don't have respect for him or the West unit principal. The dress code is enforced for certain kids while others get away with all sorts of violations. The fact the students are allowed to leave at lunch time is a disaster for everyone within city limits as the kids speed throughout neighborhoods. Kids on an IEP or 504 plan have a tough time with teachers who refuse to follow the plans 100%. Teachers are not helpful in keeping current with grades on the student and parent accessible web site. When asked about grades the teachers state they only have to contractually post grades 2x a quarter!? Need to talk with a teacher by phone? Forget it, it won't happen. After 3:15 the teachers are said to have left the building!? The younger, newer teachers have potential. They have good enthusiasm, yet they lack the experience needed to be effective in their teaching. Too many teachers give kids busy work while they themselves sit in front of classroom computers, online. I've had teachers email me at all hours of the school day and not just during planning periods!? Waste in this district is unreal!! There are more handouts given than need be given. What happened to kids using the pricey text books the districts purchases? Teachers hand them out on the first day of class stating they are only doing so in order to keep parents happy - but they won't be utilized!? The main problem with this district is they need to realize there is a difference between pride and arrogance. Once they figure it out the school will benefit as a whole. Until then it leaves much to be desired. Please think twice before sending your child to this district. Don't be fooled by money and appearances. Actually look into the mirror!

Centerville High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Students have lost respect for many of the teachers. Teachers at times act too much like a friend towards the students.


Centerville High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Kids are pretty much allowed to do anything they please without repercussion. Parents need to be stronger with discipline.

Centerville High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Too much competition amongst each other. It results in much back stabbing to get ahead.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centerville High School
500 East Franklin St, Centerville, OH  45459
(937) 439-3500
Last modified Centerville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centerville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top