Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Este High School

Public | 9-12 | 1400 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2012

i am a senior right now, ive been in this district all my life and i absolutly love ut. i loved it most because of small schools. i was genuinly and whole hearted-ly welcomed into WECIPA after spending a year in scientific studies. SSS was just not for me. i love wecipa. it made me who i am today, im a performer something i would have never realised if i didnt go to WECIPA. i love music, i love to dance, sing , act embrace the arts. but i also love math science just like a normal kid. i want forced into choosing a small school or even a career i was encourage only to branch out and emberrace new things. im glad we had small schools. with the distruction of small schools i was devasted. i wanted to sppend my senior year in a place that loved me. where i felt normal. and i was accepted. when smalls schoold were announced to begone the nxt year an uproar happend. fights brokke down and we had our very fist small school riverly fight. i started off my senior year slowly. i was back in when people i didnt fit in with. people that tormemnted me as a chiold. all i wanted was my wecipa family back. i miss wecipa but im truly greatful for all i got to expierience of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2010

Teachers at WECIPA at least were great. My complaint with Glen Este is the absolutely abominable ways in which it was managed. The principal got rid of honors classes and attempted to get rid of AP classes because they are "elitest and wrong". The sports teams were highly supported while the achievements of the choirs, bands, and other arts programs were completely disregarded. The management structure was very top heavy, with more administrators/vice principals/councelors than they had work for, (the councelors have been known to loose student's college applications). With so many administrators, one would be surprised to know that teachers were restricted to 2 reams of paper per year. In some (academic) classes there weren't textbooks. After all of this, any teacher that spoke out against the ridiculousness of this "management style" were punished by not being allowed to teach their favorite classes, where they would be most effective.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

I went to glen este for about two months, after my mom & dad got a divorce. Unfortanetly, we had to move again because my mom lost her job, but i met the most amazing & caring people in both the staff and the student body. I attened wecipa and i miss it everyday. Its really a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2007

My daughter attended Glen Este for 2 years before we moved out of state. After being uncertain about the small schools and how it was going to work for my child, I was pleasantly surprised. I found that the teachers genuinely cared about their students and were willing to go the extra mile to help them succeed. My daughter was able to be involved in dance, choir, and drama. In my experience, most public schools have you choose one activity. But in WeCIPA, students are given the flexibility to be involved in more than one activity that they desire. I wish that when we moved we could have taken this program with us. As a former student of Glen Este and parent, I am pleased with the overall performance of the school and its teachers. Thank you to all for my child's positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I was a student at Glen Este High school until I graduated and I love it, Even with the small school Being a Deaf person in West Clermont School was not easy but when the Small School started people got to know each other, class where smaller so that meant more one on one and teacher got to know you and challenge you in the area you are strong in. See so many people (parents) only look at the bad things that come out of it when really their is a ton of positive coming out of the Small Schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2006

First of all i use to be a student of Glen Este high school. I was hoping after all these years that glen este would make positve changes. However, I don't believe the changes have been positive. My son went to school there for the 10th grade and he was in american studies. He choose american studies because he really was not interested in what the school had to offer and he wanted to be challenged and with kids that were on a similar academic level. After going to school there for the whole 10th grade and part of 11th, my son decided he hated Glen Este so much that he was willing to go to Live Oaks. I don't like the structure of the school and the fact they force kids at 14 to choose a career. The school is not helping kids learn,instead their frustrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Since the inception of small schools at Glen Este I have seen many disturbing trends. Honors classes have been eliminated, the number of choices students have when scheduling has been reduced (they can only pick courses in their small school), and academic time is wasted on advisory and intersession classes. The small schools concept has been a disaster for the high achieving students and many of them have left the district. Students and parents generally do not like or want small schools but all focus groups are rigged to get the result desired by the upper administration. Except in the performing arts school music is not available (unless the student does after school band or chorus which would interfere with other activities). I can only hope the new superintendent can remedy this situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled55%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled57%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled41%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled44%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
104 (2011)
 
103 (2010)
 
104 (2009)
 
100 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

53%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 74%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
Black 1% 16%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4342 Glen Este Withamsville Rd
Cincinnati, OH 45245
Phone: (513) 947-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Amelia High School
Batavia, OH


Anderson High School
Cincinnati, OH


Turpin High School
Cincinnati, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT