Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Turpin High School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
I have one 2008 graduate, one graduating in May of '13, and a third child that will be a freshman in '13. Throughout the years, and the vastly different personalities and learning styles of my kids, Turpin has consistently been an excellent school that went above and beyond in meeting their needs. There are all kinds of academic and extra-curricular opportunities. My older kids have been involved in band, tennis team, chess club, drama, the choral groups, and in student leadership capacities. Your student can find their niche at Turpin. The sports programs are top notch, the academics are rigorous, there are clubs and opportunities galore, and not least is the environment of interested and involved administration, teachers, and students, all headed up by the principal, Mrs. Johnson. Parents are welcomed within the community, and there are plenty of ways to get involved. Perfect? No. Outstanding? Yes!

Turpin High School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a student
Turpin is a excellent school, I would like to say the best in the city and even in the state of Ohio. As a student here you get a great education and the staff is very friendly and helpful, and they will ALWAYS go out of your way to help you with work. Free tutoring after school is always great, plus the many clubs and sports that are diverse/ something for everyone. It is a very challenging school though and offers a variety of classes such as AP and Honors or CP. Turpin is also a Blue Ribbon School which only about 400 schools in the United States have been awarded. Also Turpin is rated Excellent with Distinction 11 years and running by the state of Ohio, and also appears on Best Schools In America Issue every year!


Turpin High School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a student
I am a current student here, and my experience has been horrible. The teachers are sub-par, the students are not friendly, and all together the school is horrible. The teachers and other faculty send nasty emails if you question something they did even if it's wrong, and you can't approach the teachers to ask for help with out them looking down on you, or giving you attitude. Everything you don't want in a school is here. WORST SCHOOL IN THE CITY. I would NEVER send my kids here.

Turpin High School 5

Posted July 07, 2008
- a parent
Both my daughter and son graduated within the last 3 years from Turpin. One was an honors student in AP classes and the other was a B+ student taking the average college prep classes. Turpin prepared them very well for college. Both of my children are on the dean's list and have excelled in college; one is playing Div. 1 sports. They received a well rounded education as both participated in music, were Say No to Drugs counselors, and competed in athletics as well as leadership roles at Turpin. Thank you to Turpin, one of the top 1500 high schools in America!

Turpin High School 1

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
This school gives to much homework


Turpin High School 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Turpin High School 5

Posted October 10, 2006
- a parent
Turpin's academic quality and emphasis student achievement reflect the standards and parental involvement of this mostly middle to upper income suburban community. There are an unusually large number of AP course offerings and Honors courses that will prepare those kids who are looking to gain entry to the more competitive universities. The effectiveness of faculty is certainly equal to that of any of the very expensive private high schools in the Cincinnati area. Turpin consistently scores as one of the highest performing public schools on Ohio State achievement exams scoring at the 95%ile or above in all categories.

Turpin High School 5

Posted February 11, 2006
- a parent
I have two daughters, one who has graduated from Turpin and the other who still attends. Turpin High School has offered opportunities that I could only dream of. The athletic program is excellent and the education offered is superb!


Turpin High School 5

Posted January 27, 2006
- a parent
I love this school. My son is a freshman at Turpin and he has found the staff to be in tune with the needs of the students. They care about kids there and there is a real aura of school spirit around that place. The principal is one of the best around and the athletic department is very professional and fair. We are very happy that we chose Turpin over Anderson or McNick.

Turpin High School 5

Posted November 15, 2005
- a former student
Thank you Turpin H.S. for helping to make me the successful person I am today. The extremely qualified staff, excellent curriculum, and numerous extracurriculars offered, all make Turpin 'the complete package'. There is something for everyone as long as you take advantage of all that is offered to you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Turpin High School
2650 Bartels Rd, Cincinnati, OH  45244
(513) 232-7770
Last modified Turpin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Turpin High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.