Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Turpin High School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
They are very focused on the students. I think that's the most important thing. This school is always looking for ways to improve the whole experience. This includes clubs, curriculum, building safety, and positive thinking.

Turpin High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Thanks to Cindy Gagus for her tireless effort to include all students. Her caring really fosters lifelong values.


Turpin High School 4

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Despite it's large size, Turpin was small enough to provide the attention that my son needed. The teachers and adiministration know and care about the kids.

Turpin High School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
I have one 2008 graduate, one graduating in May of '13, and a third child that will be a freshman in '13. Throughout the years, and the vastly different personalities and learning styles of my kids, Turpin has consistently been an excellent school that went above and beyond in meeting their needs. There are all kinds of academic and extra-curricular opportunities. My older kids have been involved in band, tennis team, chess club, drama, the choral groups, and in student leadership capacities. Your student can find their niche at Turpin. The sports programs are top notch, the academics are rigorous, there are clubs and opportunities galore, and not least is the environment of interested and involved administration, teachers, and students, all headed up by the principal, Mrs. Johnson. Parents are welcomed within the community, and there are plenty of ways to get involved. Perfect? No. Outstanding? Yes!

Turpin High School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a student
Turpin is a excellent school, I would like to say the best in the city and even in the state of Ohio. As a student here you get a great education and the staff is very friendly and helpful, and they will ALWAYS go out of your way to help you with work. Free tutoring after school is always great, plus the many clubs and sports that are diverse/ something for everyone. It is a very challenging school though and offers a variety of classes such as AP and Honors or CP. Turpin is also a Blue Ribbon School which only about 400 schools in the United States have been awarded. Also Turpin is rated Excellent with Distinction 11 years and running by the state of Ohio, and also appears on Best Schools In America Issue every year!


Turpin High School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a student
I am a current student here, and my experience has been horrible. The teachers are sub-par, the students are not friendly, and all together the school is horrible. The teachers and other faculty send nasty emails if you question something they did even if it's wrong, and you can't approach the teachers to ask for help with out them looking down on you, or giving you attitude. Everything you don't want in a school is here. WORST SCHOOL IN THE CITY. I would NEVER send my kids here.

Turpin High School 5

Posted July 07, 2008
- a parent
Both my daughter and son graduated within the last 3 years from Turpin. One was an honors student in AP classes and the other was a B+ student taking the average college prep classes. Turpin prepared them very well for college. Both of my children are on the dean's list and have excelled in college; one is playing Div. 1 sports. They received a well rounded education as both participated in music, were Say No to Drugs counselors, and competed in athletics as well as leadership roles at Turpin. Thank you to Turpin, one of the top 1500 high schools in America!

Turpin High School 1

Posted May 13, 2008
- a parent
This school gives to much homework


Turpin High School 5

Posted October 10, 2006
- a parent
Turpin's academic quality and emphasis student achievement reflect the standards and parental involvement of this mostly middle to upper income suburban community. There are an unusually large number of AP course offerings and Honors courses that will prepare those kids who are looking to gain entry to the more competitive universities. The effectiveness of faculty is certainly equal to that of any of the very expensive private high schools in the Cincinnati area. Turpin consistently scores as one of the highest performing public schools on Ohio State achievement exams scoring at the 95%ile or above in all categories.

Turpin High School 5

Posted February 11, 2006
- a parent
I have two daughters, one who has graduated from Turpin and the other who still attends. Turpin High School has offered opportunities that I could only dream of. The athletic program is excellent and the education offered is superb!

Nearby schools

Turpin High School
2650 Bartels Rd, Cincinnati, OH  45244
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (513) 232-7770
Last modified Turpin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top