Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Cecilia Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cincinnati

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $193,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

This is like sending your child to a public school. I wanted a private school education and this seems like public school education I'm getting. Seems like the teachers single out children and almost pick on them. When most of the children in the class are failing. There is no sports or extra activities. They barely shovel the parking lot when it snows. I think I am moving my child next year. It's other schools besides this one. This school doesn't even have heat. PLEASE STAY AWAY!!! CHOOSE ANOTHER SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

The kindergarten helper was just let go with a week left in the school year. I was sorry to see her go, and in this final week of school it means that the remaining kindergarten teacher is handling the class without that help. A second accredited teacher is being brought onto staff for the coming school year, but I felt like the way the helper was let go now was not handled by the principal as best it could be. I have a very positive experience with the school overall though, and hope that the added 2nd K teacher next year will be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

St. Cecilia is a great school in the heart of Oakley. Our three children attend the school and feel a part of the community. The teachers and staff are very caring. They do a great job of teaching the Catholic faith and making it a part of everyday activities. Students are academically challenged. The principal is very energetic, and the kids love him. He has a great vision for the School and Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2012

I currently have two daughters at St. Cecilia. My husband and I are absolutely in love with our school. Our children love it as well. The teachers are caring and loving. They are faithful and knowledgable. I truly believe that this school is one of the best Catholic Schools. I have a 5th grader who has been at St. C since kindergarten and a first grader. There is a strong academic curriculm, that will allow our children to succeed. We have had a wonderful experience all the way through. There is new leadership that I feel will allow for new and exciting changes to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

I have a son at St. Cecilia and we've been very happy with his education there so far. The school got a new principal in August 2011. He is doing a tremendous job. He is a true leader, with focus on academics, faith, involvement, and advancement. He cares about all of the kids at the school, and it's evident they respect and like him when I see them at recess asking him to play with them on the playground. Just in the first half of the year alone, he had brought new technology to several of the classrooms (including SMARTboards). We've been happy with both the kindergarten and first grade teachers who have been very attentive to our son's individual needs both educationally and socially. We're looking forward to our second child starting kindergarten there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

I have a son at St. Cecilia, and find this school to be a great school for him. He has some learning problems, and the staff does a wonderful job of accomodating him and helping him to succeed. The staff goes out of their way to assist him. I couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

I couldn't agree more w/the last 2 posters. I've had children in St.C for the last 13 years (3 kids). The previous principal was beyond wonderful! She loved St.C w/her heart & soul. She loved each & every child & they loved her back. No one was ready for the cold & bitter woman who took over. It was so bad the 1st yr that 1 parent put a sign in his car window that said: 'Save St.C! Fire Miss (---)!' She's run families, faculty & staff out! It's been a mass exodus! We'd have left too but our only alternative is public schools. No one understands why the Archdiocese keeps her. She couldn't be less interested in the kids. Staff even talks abt how awful she is. It's so sad. 'If only' she showed a little concern. A school is only as good as its leader ~ and this one stinks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

The Principal at this school is political, rude and has no warmth to her at all. I went to visit and she did not listen to anything that was said. This school is heading in the wrong direction with her leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Horrible, horrible, horrible...The principal is arrogant and puts her needs before the school and children. With that type of leadership you will have no success unless you give up your child's savings. Trust me no love in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

I love St. Cecilia! My daughter starter kindergarten this school year and loves it as well! Ms. Marois and Mrs. Shlie are terrific! I am proud to tell people that my daughter goes to St. Cecilia! The teachers are great! The other parents are all so nice (I haven't encountered any stuck up parents yet!) . Its a great place, my daughter will continue to go to St.Cecilia!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

I find St. Cecilia to be a great school my two sisters and I attended there for many years. Now I choose to send my sons there, Ms Marois and Ms Bernert were wonderful this year they really made it a point for my five year old to feel comfortable with himself and the school.I was really pleased with everything St. Cecilia has to offer my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I have two daughters in this school currently and another starting next year. I believe my children have received a top notch education and a very strong moral foundation for life. The teaching staff is very caring, supportive and shows great pride in their work and one can see how much they care for the students and how much the students care for the teachers. I find the principal to be a very caring woman and everyone in the school to have always been very helpful. It is a school that I would highly recommend. As for security and watching the students, they do that quite well. You can't even get into the building unless you are buzzed in and they only let people in they know. The kindergarten teacher only releases the kindergarten student(s) to the parent(s) or the person who the parent said was the pickup.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

What a disappointment. I moved my family here with the intent to have my kids go to St. Cecilia, from K-8th grade. But one year was enough! Safety is a real issue, as the teaching staff is very lax in watching the kids, the principal is arrogant and distant, and the facility itself is old and dumpy. We are MOVING!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 77%
Black 33% 19%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael R. Goedde
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (513) 533-6068

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4115 Taylor Ave
Cincinnati, OH 45209
Phone: (573) 533-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Cincinnati, OH





Mt. Washington School
Cincinnati, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT