Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
675 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. James the Greater School 1

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
The students behave terribly. The teachers show favoritism. Inclusiveness is shunned. Positive experiences are nonexistent.

St. James the Greater School 1

Posted April 25, 2015
- a parent
St. James is not a good school. The students and faculty are very unkind. There is also a very large bullying problem that is ignored by the staff. Academically, the school isn't much better. St. James teachers only cater to the top of the class. Students who are struggling receive little to no help. I would not recommend this school.


St. James the Greater School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a community member
Honestly, I wouldn't recommend this school. I didn't find it to be very friendly or welcoming.

St. James the Greater School 1

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately my experience with this school was a very negative one. My child was the victim of some very nasty bullying. Based on what I've heard from other former parents, this is, unfortunately, not uncommon. I hope St. James can make some improvements when it comes to this issue because as of right now, it remains a problem.

St. James the Greater School 4

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
I am sending my first child to school here because of the academics. My family is not catholic. I understand this school is a catholic school but welcomes all faiths but I have heard staff saying over and over again- "we are seeing more and more non-catholics...." I don't see a problem with this I am trying to properly educate my child and I LOVE that they start teaching spanish in Kindergarden!! My child has only attended St. James for 1 week and I have seen favoritism to and with parents within the PTO kind of like high school cliques ( I hope this is just something I have misperceived). Also, my daughter whom is a kindergardener has consistently come home upset about comments from older children on the playground. Catholic or not they are accepting any religion and to openly point out religious differences and treat children/parents differently is unacceptable. I am trying to give my child the best chance at a 1st rate education on the westside but St. James also needs to prove that it is worthy of that ribbon whether you are catholic or not. I will update this later.


St. James the Greater School 4

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
Positive changes are happening at St. James. The academic excellence which has been a hallmark of this school remains while a positive and welcoming environment has been created. The past is the past, let's look to the future.

St. James the Greater School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
St. James is a great school! My daughters are just about ready to finish another year and both are thriving! They love school and I really attribute it to the teachers they have had. It's really a great community.

St. James the Greater School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
I have one current student at St James and one future student. I couldn't be happier with the level of education and the sense of community St James provides my child. The teachers and staff truely care about all the childrens needs no matter their abilities. We are 100% satisfied with our decision to send our children to this wonderful school


St. James the Greater School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
St. James is a wonderful school with excellent teachers. I have two children at St. James and one who will attend in the future. The teachers want each student to succeed and work closely with parents. The school has every resource available if your child might need extra attention. I feel welcome at the school and enjoy attending school events. I know that my family made the right choice with St. James. We continue to be impressed by St. James on a daily basis.

St. James the Greater School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
Moving into the west side of Cincinnati 12 years ago, we were encouraged to look at the curriculum that St. James offered. Our four children have received not only an incredible education, but nurtured in a very caring, supportive environment with a wonderful staff and teachers. The reputation of St. James precedes the graduates, as we have witnessed when our older kid's high school teachers comment- 'you went to St. James, you will be a leader in this class', or ' Oh, you're from St. James? You will be totally fine with this class level (honors).' The class sizes are just the right size, and the junior high curriculum and fine art/phys ed electives let the children choose their interests. Service and extra curricular opportunities for growth and leadership begin early and continue throughout these formative years. The cafeteria offers several selections, including an ever-popular salad bar, and our beloved school nurse is full-time, and totally committed to our students well being. Choosing to move to White Oak, because of the 4-time blue ribbon winning school, St. James, was the best decision we have made for our four children and one we will never regret.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. James the Greater School
6111 Cheviot Rd, Cincinnati, OH  45247
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (513) 741-5333
Last modified St. James the Greater School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top