Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Lawrence Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 242 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cincinnati

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $44,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2012

I went to this school for 8 years, i tried to get along with everyone including the teachers. Because i wasnt catholic they treated me differently. I did very good and always did my work but they didnt give me the grades i deserved, The teachers were rude and didnt care that i was being teased and abused. It was a horrible experience for me, i dont recommend this school..


Posted February 27, 2012

I was a student at St. Lawrence School, & now my children are students at St. Lawrence. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My son has just started the preschool program.I am very impressed with the program!He is learning how to write his letters/name.His teacher is very patient with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

It is a place where the students can feel respected, safe and cared about. The teachers obviously don't do it for the money, but because they truly believe in the next generation. The are sttempting to mold young people as a whole and not just their minds. The students and staff bring forth smiles just by being themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I think all this school thinks about is the money..and thats all the care about. My son has went there since he was in 3rd grade and I used to like it, but somehow its changed. I really dont have a choice because the district we live in is crap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

My daughter has attended St Lawrence since Kindergarten. I have always been pleased with the teachers and the staff of St Lawrence. Everyone has always been caring and helpful to my daughter and her future. My daughter has moved on to Walnut Hills High School This year. I believe the education she received at this school has prepared her for the highly advanced education she will be pursuing at high school level and on into college. Even though my daughter has moved on the staff still makes her welcome on return visits maintaining that family feel the school has always had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

My child has attended St. Lawrence since kindergarten. I have been pleased with the school, teachers, students etc since day one. I have noticed a big change in my sons life as far as discipline, and learning abilities. I recommend this school to anyone and everyone who is interested in giving their child the best education. I couldn't ask for a better opprutunity then this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

My child has attended this school since kindergarten. I have been very pleased with all the teachers she has had. The principal is very accessible. I would recommend this school to anyone having children that are interested in a top quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

The quality of the academic programs is excellent. I am very pleased with St. Lawrence teachers. I also like the students because they do not break up in cliques.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

My 2 children go to St.Lawrence, and I'm very glad that they do. This school offers a great small class size...which is very important these days. The kids get alot of one on one attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 77%
Black 22% 19%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Alma Lee Joesting
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (513) 921-5108

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1020 Carson Ave
Cincinnati, OH 45205
Phone: (513) 921-4996

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Resurrection School
Cincinnati, OH





Oyler School
Cincinnati, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT