Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is outstanding in the quality of artistic preparation and also academic preparation of the students. It is full of life and positive energy. It really gives the students what I like to call a well rounded preparation. My daughter says this school is like her second family for her.

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
This is the best all-around school in the area. The teachers and staff go above and beyond for the students. The academics are on par with Walnut Hills. They expose the children to many opportunities children usually don't have. My only complaint is that sometimes it takes them too long to weed out the riff raff.


School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 4

Posted June 30, 2012
- a parent
I love this school and the arts. I'm proud my child is a student here. There are many wonderful teachers, staff and students at SCPA. Unfortunately, there are also adults and children who display unbridled, poor behavior that negatively impacts others. In reality, the overwhelming desire to portray "perfection" does not benefit this school or any other school. The public is keenly aware there are problems everywhere. Our school will truly excel when honest efforts are made to prevent, address and resolve problems.

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 5

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
I chose to send my son to SCPA and chose to pay out of district tuition for 6 years because of my belief in allowing students to be able to express their thoughts in a creative way. Schools are consumed in just passing tests for state funding. This school is for the creative and artistic child and very accepting to a diverse group of students from all backgrounds. It is a public school but has a small intimate feeling. You see students smile the majority of the time. This is a special school for the children who do not fit into the normal public school because of their creative minds. They have majors in the different arts and the students are well trained in their art programs. Many students graduate with scholorships. This is now a K-12 art school. Students who apply must audition and have good grades to get in at the 4th grade level. They can audition and the school staff looks for creative possibilities in all the arts. The only downside would be the students ability to be able to focus on the academics. The student puts alot of hours into the arts.

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 4

Posted February 23, 2011
- a parent
As an art school, SCPA is outstanding! It is mind-boggling how far advanced art students are upon graduation. THAT SAID, I would rate the academics only mediocre at best. The students are not challenged and expectations are low, particularly for the high school level. There are a few gems in the teaching staff but my children had several teachers who uninspiring at best. I have another child who attended a high performing academic school so I could easily see the difference. Art students also deserve a high quality academic education. We should expect both.


School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 4

Posted November 28, 2010
- a community member
What I don't like is children getting picked on and then getting the blame for when they yell out because it hurts (when the other individual stomps their hands, or whatever). However, that child will not speak up for fear of making things worse on themselves. This has been going on for sometime. And, I'm sorry but I have to call it reverse racism. The child in question does not call it that and refuses to be a racist or have anyone around to be that way. I am very proud of her for her beliefs and she is only 9 years old. I know that she works very very hard for her grades and got her first F ever which broke her heart and caused her to be grounded indefinitely but gets no help from her daddy, so that makes it hard on her too. She's had a tough life but doesn't complain and is full of love for others if you get to know her. I believe five hours of homework is an awful lot for a fourth grader which is what she has almost daily. However, I do know that you all are an excellent school and hope all works out for her. A very concerned grandmother Cincyflash15

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
They teach the arts to children expanding the bounds of the imagination.

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
It's a school were kids can be more than just brains, they can be whole people.


School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Excellent art program, art teachers who care.

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
nurtures artistic talents and academics under same roof during school hours

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School For Creat & Perf Arts High School
108 W. Central Parkway, Cincinnati, OH  45202
(513) 363-8000
Last modified School For Creat & Perf Arts High School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
School For Creat & Perf Arts High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top