Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Cincinnati, OH
Students enrolled: 609
 

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Fairview-Clifton German Language School 3

Posted June 30, 2012
- a parent
My child attended when she was very young. I was utterly dissatisfied with her teacher's lack of patience, compassion, supervision and discipline. She was physically bullied. Sometimes my child came home with injuries intentionally inflicted by classmates. As a result, her emotional well being suffered, especially since the teacher and school refused to address the issue. Student safety was a low priority. My child learned a lot while she was there but there was way too much pressure. Overall, the environment was intense and the children didn't seem happy. Learning is and should be fun. Academically, it's definitely a good school and there is active parental support. Parents would like to participate more but it is discouraged. Ultimately, student and parent's experience is largely dependent on the teacher. Although I regret sending my child there, I wish the students the best. By the way, they aren't taught German until kindergarten.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Fairview is a school that demonstrates how diversity and excellence can coincide. Children of different racial, ethnic, socio-economic, and other backgrounds learn to speak German here, as well as explore the arts, sciences, and math in great depth. Students' written works are displayed annually at Young Authors' Night. Children get to see that math and science are fun in Math and Science Night. Fairview students also have the opportunity to participate in an exchange program. The teachers are wonderful and hardworking. All in all, Fairview is a model of what public schools should be. We are so happy that our child attend this school.


Fairview-Clifton German Language School 4

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
My son attended Fairview for 2 years. We had a lot of negative issues with his Kindergarten teacher. As a 1st grader his learning greatly improved. We are no longer live in Cincinnati, but I would say that Fairview is a wonderful School, and I LOVE that it is a bilingual school. I might add, that I too attended Fairview in the late 70's and loved it then.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
Fairview provides an excellent program for children which enables them to look at their world with a more global view.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School 5

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
We are very pleased with Fairview. The staff works so hard to do what is best for all children. Our son has a learning disability and we are very pleased with his specialized education pland and services that he receives. The Arts programs reach out to all students and make everyone feel special.


Fairview-Clifton German Language School 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
I have two children at the school and have had an excellent experience. The teachers are great but one of the other assets of Fairview is the families/parents. They are very involved in their children's lives and education. One of the things that makes Fairview a great place is parental involvement. This year Fairview is one of only two Cincinnati Public Schools to be granted the Ohio Board of education's EXCELLENT SCHOOL rating. What more can I say? It is an excellent school in many more ways than academically.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School 4

Posted April 28, 2006
- a parent
Fairview is a great school!It is one of the best choices if you are looking for a strong academic program in this public school district. My children have also benefited from a gifted program and support for learing difficulties. I have found that the teachers are great although there have been some bad apples over the years. All and all if you are interested in strong academics, germain language, diversity, strong parent involvement and lots of extra activities this is definately a school to check out.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School 3

Posted January 09, 2006
- a parent
Band really good and orchestra oustanding. My children didn't actually learn German, but normal coursework was fine. Very claustrophobic--not enough chairs. Best in earlier grades.


Fairview-Clifton German Language School 5

Posted October 04, 2005
- a parent
As a Fairview parent for nine years I am extremely happy with my two childrens' education at Fairview. The parent involvement is incredible and one of the schools strongest features. The parents love being involved in the school and it shows in the energized learning environment. The teachers give 110% and are excellent at what they do. Words cannot say enough so you will just have to take a tour and see these happy, productive kids for yourself.

Fairview-Clifton German Language School 5

Posted August 13, 2005
- a teacher
As a teacher at Fairview I am extremely pleased with all aspects of this school. The students come prepared to school with a willingness to learn. The staff is dedicated to working together to increase learning opportunitues for all. The students have the opportunity to have German instruction, music, art, library, physical education, gifted education, and special education instruction on a daily basis. The parent support is unmeasurable. The parents are involved and willing to do anything that is asked of them. The administrator runs a safe and fun building. I can't imagine ever teaching at another school again!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairview-Clifton German Language School
3689 Clifton Ave, Cincinnati, OH  45220
(513) 363-2100
Last modified Fairview-Clifton German Language School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairview-Clifton German Language School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top