Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy at CCDS. The school genuinley care about our children. They make every provision to help our children to be successful.

Cincinnati Country Day School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
If you have time to spend for homework with your child, it's great. If not, there isn't much support for children who struggle. They aren't great with learning issues or documentation of what works and what doesn't for your child. The cost was not worth the value.


Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
We are beginning our sixth year at Cincinnati Country Day School and live in the community in which the school is located. Six years ago, my husband and I moved our oldest child who was entering sixth grade from a well respected public school to CCDS. We weren't unhappy at the local school. We felt it was our obligation, as parents, to provide our children with the best education possible. We were so pleased with CCDS that we moved our other two children to CCDS, too. What we found at CCDS was an environment that supports excellence in education. It is "cool" to be smart. The faculty truly care about the children and support the children in the classroom, on the athletic field, and in personal interests. Classroom sizes are small, the faculty are passionate about teaching, and teachers make every effort to be available to help the children excel in their studies. Classmates challenge and support each other both in and out of the classroom. Students, faculty, and staff are truly happy to be part of the CCDS Community. Our oldest child shared with me, recently, that our decision to move her to CCDS was the best decision we ever made.

Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
We have three children attending this school. Two children are in the lower school and the eldest has attended the middle school and is presently in the upper school. I continue to be impressed with the quality of the teachers at this school. They are always available for questions that a parent or child may have. They understand what motivates a child to learn and understand that children learn in different ways. Each of my children has had great success at this school, and I attribute that to the excellence of the teaching staff.

Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
We are about to start our tenth school year at CCDS (we also have an older child who attended K-12 in one of the excellent public school districts locally so we have the perspective of a different type of educational experience as well) and overall, it has been a wonderful experience. My children are twice exceptional learners, both gifted and also with some learning differences, and the school has been able to meet their learning needs consistently. Like any school, it's imperative that parents work collaboratively with teachers and administrators and students to foster the best learning environment for their children. CCDS is very open to this collaborative process and also boasts some of the finest educators I've met, as well as a slew of extras -- a beautiful nature-filled campus, tremendous arts and athletics, and a very strong community. Diversity (socio-economic as well as other factors) continues to expand and contribute to this fantastic community. Highly recommend to anyone looking for an excellent education for their children.


Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
We have just finished our 9th year at this wonderful school. Our two oldest are now graduates. We discovered this school after two others did not meet our kids' unique academic needs. We have found CCDS to be very flexible and truly willing to partner with us in creating the best learning environment possible. The school is committed to diversity and the development of a strong sense of community among all its members. The teachers are truly exceptional and have come to know our kids as individuals, not just as students in their classrooms. The principals in each division have been quick to respond to any concerns we have had. Our kids have thrived at CCDS. They have been appropriately challenged academically, they have been encouraged to stretch themselves in extracurricular activities that they would not have had the opportunity to participate in at other schools, and they have been nurtured and encouraged by their teachers and administrators to grow into contributing members of their communities. College counseling for our two oldest has been phenomenal and we expect it will also be for our youngest. I will miss this community when our youngest graduates.

Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
As someone engaged in the mission of creating 21st century schools in the U.S. I have been extremely impressed with the quality of teaching, the positive engagement, community support and complete tech integration offered at CCDS. Our son transferred to the Upper School and, after many years of trying to have his needs met in a public school environment, CCDS immediately provided the depth and breadth of curriculum paced appropriately for his learning style. We have been so well pleased with the opportunities he has been presented with at this excellent school I have recommended it highly to anyone in the Cincinnati area looking for an option for high ability students. Our daughter will be joining the Middle School in the Fall.

Cincinnati Country Day School 3

Posted June 04, 2011
- a parent
We live in the community where CCDS is located but found the school to be lacking in diversity as well as equity in student dealings. Our son was bullied and our daughter was not taught in the learning style best suited to her needs. The school pays lip service to these situations but actually does very little to alleviate them. The bullying was handled poorly by the administration. The school sells "small class size" but uses the "teach to the least capable" with a one teaching style mentality (no variations for learning styles). There is a very small pool of friends from which to choose so it is conform or else. In addition, This is a school with some of the wealtiest families in Cincinnati in attendance; therefore those families tend to get "preferential" treatment when it comes to situations of inapporpriate behavior. I am caucasian but was disturbed by the treatment of minority and scholarship students. There seems to be an underlying prejudice towards students of color and those on scholarship by many parents, teachers, and staff. Given the many negative features of the school that we observed as well as experienced in our 5 years there, we decided to withdraw our children.
4 people found this helpful


Cincinnati Country Day School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
My grandkids attend this wonderful school and they love it and are thriving. It was selected as the best school in Cincinnati and the 2nd best school in Ohio too.

Cincinnati Country Day School 4

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
We are delighted! Our DD joined CCDS this fall, and we are so happy with her classmates, who have been friendly and welcoming, her teachers, who are very attentive and strive to meet her individual needs, and the administration, who are committed to helping each child develop best in his or her own way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cincinnati Country Day School
6905 Given Road, Cincinnati, OH  45243
(513) 561-7298
Last modified Cincinnati Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Cincinnati Country Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top