Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 64 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


69 reviews of this school


Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a community member
I am a junior at Walnut hills, i graduate in 2015. Great School. If your child is motivated, this school will work for you. To all students: grades 7-9 will be stressful. You will get annoying busy work, but don't worry. If you take advanced classes later on, there is much more freedom and time to enjoy non-school activities. There is much diversity at Walnut and it gets you prepared for college VERY well. I honestly do not have to work that hard for my 3.3 GPA and 3.7 weighted. it is not an extremely difficult school like it is claimed to be, but you must actually work and learn how to test. To students: No, seniors do not call you "effies", and no, you won't get "canned" by anyone... thats all just rumors your hear about walnut when applying. Drama at this school is very minuscule if you place yourself in a good group of friends. At walnut, everyone is kinda open. there are no true cliques. thats what i love about the school. I can honestly talk to 95% of the people in my grade about anything and theres no "shunning" or any of that BS you hear about in high school. Keep in mind there is much cheating at this school. Its common. It will happen. Over all, Walnut is worth it.

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
The poster below suggested that students at Walnut Hills are "not that smart" because they only need to score 70% on the entrance test to get it. This is not true. An applicant must score at or above the 70th percentile, which means that he or she is among the top third of students taking the test. So by definition the students that enter Walnut Hills are among the top third students academically in the greater Cincinnati area. My son is currently one of those students and he loves it. The education so far has been great as well as the many opportunities for extra curricular activities. Principal Brokamp is very personable and shows a true caring and regard for his students. Alums I meet praise the school highly. Overall, a great experience.


Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
I am currently a senior at Walnut with several younger siblings attending and we all love it. It is a big transition from elementary school because 7th graders are treated a lot like the high schoolers. Students have a lot of freedom but it is really not abused. Going here gives students a huge advantage, I do more work than most other kids in the city, including private school students, and have greatly enjoyed my time here. Walnut is the best school in the area and anyone who says otherwise is probably trolling. Great diversity and great preparation for life. The "Honors advantage" has been lowered by offering AA courses correlating to the honors classes with equal weighting to non-Honors students. Amazing school with amazing opportunities.

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
i miss walnut. this school ranks in the top 100 for academics in public schools across all of america. my kids will hopefully experience walnut and enjoy it as i did. and for those that are negative........i had a friend go to harvard and one is working at the white house after graduating from this great school

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children at Walnut Hills High School (1 in jr. high, 1 in high school; the school is 7th-12th grade) & I'm very pleased with the school overall. The curriculum is 2nd to none. It's a classical curriculum, with Latin required for at least 3 years. The school offers an abundance of advanced placement classes, which can save parents money in college tuition later. The principal, Jeff Brokamp, is truly a gem; he has a genuine concern for the students and truly wants the best for the students and their development in the classroom and as people. Another great thing about the school, is that every teacher is required to offer a "help night" (before school, after school, or during lunch) in which any student needing or wanting additional help can meet with the teacher for help. This is important because the school's regular curriculum is already advanced, and with the addition of Honors classes, the pace can be a little overwhelming. I would like to see increased and better communication from the school overall. It's a phenomenal school overall --usually ranked about 65 out of 18,000 public schools nationwide and ranked #1 in Ohio.


Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from Walnut. The school prepares students very well, in addition to giving them a great amount of "street smarts" which make the transition into college much easier. Walnut has a stellar reputation with colleges throughout the country (the top kids go to Ivy League caliber schools), students with ambitions for these colleges should look no further. However, Walnut is a very systematic school and its plentiful resources are not evenly allocated. If you have a child with academic ambition it is VITAL to get him/her into the Honors Program. As an Honors student, you get the best teachers and priority placement into the school's numerous AP courses. It also gives your all-important GPA a boost that leaves the other 300 students in the dust. It isn't fair, but it's life. The Honors Program is heavily skewed toward white affluent students, which is a little eerie considering how diverse the school actually is. There is some racial tension and self imposed segregation at the school. I transferred into Walnut from a private school and chose it over many other good schools in the area, including my district high school (my parents paid tuition). It was worth every penny.

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Having graduated three children in two years from Walnut and having been involved as any parent in athletic, academic, social, and fundraising efforts at Walnut Hills the last 6 years, I can say - without hesitation - that the previous posts claiming a drug problem at Walnut Hills are most-likely by anonymous internet posters looking to lower the perception of this phenomenal school for whatever petty reasons they may have. You cannot get a better education anywhere, at any price. You may be able to get as good, but you it will cost you several tens of thousands of dollars over 4 years, not to mention the six years that Walnut offers. No public school within several hundred miles will give you as good an education, not to mention better. As excellent as WHHS has been for decades, it has only been improving by leaps and bounds due to the incomparable leadership of its current principal. Every parent within the greater-Cincinnati area should consider Walnut Hills High School, first, as it offers the best education that they will be able to obtain for their children. With CPS' Open Enrollment, there is no excuse for a parent to not attempt to send their child to Walnut Hills.

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Walnut Hills and while drugs are everywhere and at every school it seems , my son made good choices and now still enjoy great success in life!! Walnut Hills really prepared him to be a World Leader!!


Walnut Hills High School 1

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
I don't care how good the school is. If they can't get the drug problem under control, people need to think twice before they send their children there.

Walnut Hills High School 5

Posted July 17, 2012
- a community member
Walunt Hills High School is a great school. I graduated from Walnut Hills. They give you alot of freedom,space and choices on what YOU want to do. This school has very great acedemics,very great teachers and staff and,a high expectations of their students. Also they give you the chioce to take AP courses, which will help ALOT on your road to whatever college. The only thing I don't like about this school is some of the people. some of the people at this school is what might set this schools standards a little bit lower. There is about 5-6 thousand people walking at the same time in all different directions,65% of them are 7th and 8th graders. i have witnessed alot of bulliying at this school, because its soo big and people will not always get along but all in all its is a great school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Hills High School
3250 Victory Parkway, Cincinnati, OH  45207
(513) 363-8400
Last modified Walnut Hills High School is a Public school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Hills High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 69 reviews.