Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cincinnati Waldorf School

Private | PK-8 | 163 students

Only area Waldorf School

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Cincinnati

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2013

The Waldorf is unlike any other school around. They educate the whole child; head heart and hands, literally. Children are engaged by movement, handwork, song, artistically. These are some of the most creative, critical thinkers you will meet. Once you observe and experience the children and the most dedicated and giving teachers you will meet, you will wish you could have sent yourself here. But don't worry! There is a fantastically supportive, caring and involved community. You have to experience it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

My son is in fourth grade and has attended the Cincinnati Waldorf School since Nursery. The school provides a warm, supportive environment in which to pursue an excellent education. It truly does address the needs of the whole child: academic as well as emotional and social. The school community is well-developed with great parent involvement. We have met so many like-minded families who have become great friends. I am so grateful to have an excellent Waldorf school in Cincinnati!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

My daughter has been attending the Cincinnati Waldorf School since she was 18 months old. I could not be happier with her progress, her social interaction skills and her love of art, nature, her classmates as well as her teachers. She is respected as an individual and her talents as well as challenges are recognized, embraced and worked with. The difference between this approach and my public school education is why I brought my daughter here. The future belongs to creative, loving people who respect the earth as well as their peers. This is what the Cincinnati Waldorf School teaches outside of reading, writing and all the other classroom skills we all need. Which, they approach quite differently as well and very successfully I might add! This education competes quite successfully with other teaching methods and schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Our family has been blessed by a Waldorf education! Our children are well educated, grounded and truly enjoy coming to school. To give our children the opportunity to learn each day in an environment that brings a rich curriculum held by highly trained teachers who utilize movement and artistic expression across all subject areas, is the best gift we could ever give them-and ourselves! For anyone who doubts the results of a Waldorf education, just find a CWS student and talk to them!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

The Cincinnati Waldorf School is a breath of fresh air for those of us who want our kids educated rather than tested. The curriculum is developmentally based and rich in classic literature. This is a school where teachers foster individual growth. Art, Music and Movement are a key part of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I brought my children to the Cincinnati Waldorf School due to its outstanding early childhood program with plans to move them to our nationally-recognized neighborhood public school. After researching the curriculum of the Waldorf grade-school and that of our public school, we were not satisfied with the public school option. We now have a second-grader at CWS and couldn't be happier. I delight in the fact that my son has art, music and movement classes everyday. He is exposed to above-reading level literature, evident in his vocabulary and understanding of the world. He plays outside in all types of weather - the kids bring their sleds to school in the winter. This is a very soulful school with a true reverence for the children and the families it embraces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

After six years here, I love my childrens' school and, more importantly, so do my two kids (9 and 11). They actually look forward to going back to school after weekends and vacations. CWS is warm, nurturing, inclusive, diverse, and holistic. Very art and nature-oriented. Natural playground (i.e. dirt, grass, sticks, stumps, trees, not asphalt). Outdoor recess rain-or-shine, field trips, gardening, farming, etc. Emphasis is on the quality of instruction and experience, not the quantity of information that can be poured/forced into kids' heads. There are no grades or tests, per se. I'm so grateful that my kids' love of learning and school has been fostered, not thwarted. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Our two boys (4 and 7) have had an excellent experience at the Cincinnati Waldorf School. My wife and I love the diversity of the student body and the entire school community. And with our kids excited to go to school every day, I truly believe that their passion for learning will continue to grow and lead to great opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

Very warm, nurturing environment. Sometimes I think some boundary issues. My child loved this school but was a little behind academically with the rest of the public school kids. It is not good for someone with specia needs since there are not many resources. You have to be in it for the long haul. I do love this school though, the kids learn in a way they enjoy and they have strong ties with nature. Recommennd if you can attend all the way through.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Christine M. Masur
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (513) 541-3586

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Featured in the Cincinnati Business Courier here: http://www.bizjournals.com/cincinnati/print-edition/2012/01/27/low-tech-cincinnati-waldorf-school.html?page=all Cincinnati boasts one of a handful of Waldorf Schools in the Midwest. Call now to see what the buzz is about! 513.541.0220
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Walnut Hills
Saint Xavier
SCPA
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5555 Little Flower Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45239
Website: Click here
Phone: (513) 541-0220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Eden Grove Academy
Cincinnati, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT