Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori

Private | PK-8 | 149 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cincinnati

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2013

While most little children love going to school, ours is unique in that the students keep their love of learning through the upper grades. Montessori education fosters this connection by involving the whole child, body and mind. GSCM goes further by restoring Montessori philosophy to its true Catholic context, creating a place of peace and beauty where a child can grow physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 28, 2013

We have two children attending the Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The teachers are passionate about the Montessori philosophy. My children are receiving an education that is highly individualized and academically rigorous. The Montessori philosophy combined with the faith-based education truly serves the whole child. The principal is approachable and visible. He meets students (& parents) at the door each morning with a handshake and greets them by name. Parents are highly involved with every aspect of the school. We love being part of The Good Shepherd community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Outstanding quality of education for the price. Recommended to all families looking whose goal is to have their children love to learn, become independent and life-long learn ears in a noncompetitive environment. One of the best Montessori programs in Cincinnati. The school is small, and the building is simple, but at this school it is not about what is on the outside, but what's on the inside that counts. Because classes are not given traditional a-f grades, there is less pressure on kids, higher academic self esteem (where the focus is on reaching your own potential, not a universal standard,) and more intrinsic motivation. Multiple-age classroom also allow greater flexibility for kids working at their own pace while fostering a better social environment where friendships are not based on an age group. Also, we are not Catholic, but have felt very welcome and included. The peaceful, Godly environment has been a great benefit for our children. A very loving environment and excellent price. The principal is highly visible and involved with students, and greets every child with a handshake each morning. Better than most school where the principal stays in her office all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

I encourage all parents who are looking for a superb, well rounded education for their children to come visit GSCM. My children are in the preprimary program and we have seen tremendous, positive changes in them as a whole. They are guided to be gentle and loving while being exposed to wonderful educational material. The parent involvement is refreshing and has a community feel that I have not experienced at any other school. We are committed to Montessori and Catholic education and can't wait to see how the next 8-10 years impacts our children for the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Good Shepherd Montessori is a superb school! Next year will be my child's sixth year and we couldn't be more pleased. Offering a combination of Montessori and the catechesis of the Good Shepherd makes for an independent, thoughtful and compassionate person. I'm so happy with the person my child is becoming and feel compelled to give much of the credit to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Excellent Montessori school! Focuses on faith-based education, but even an atheist can find loads of meaning here. :) Teachers are top-notch, caring for the whole child. Respect is number one here, given by the teachers and administration as well as expected and taught to the children. They understand that kids are on their own time frame and teach by "following the child" - brilliant! I love this school and so do my three kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

This school is definitely heads and tails above what you would get at most other schools. The teachers and administrators take care to pay personal attention to all the students. There is, however, a heavy hand and formal indoctrination to the Catholic religion. So, if that is ok with you, this is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

Absolutely wonderful school, superior teachers & principal, supportive parents & beautiful new location. Academic excellence with strong character development!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 77%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 3%
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Daniel C. Teller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (513) 271-4680

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Cincinnati
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4460 Berwick St
Cincinnati, OH 45227
Website: Click here
Phone: (513) 271-4171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Prince of Peace School
Cincinnati, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT