Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
200 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

My son, a graduate of The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori, is getting all A's in his high school religion class. He says he doesn't even need to study for the quizzes and credits the Atrium - religion class -at GSCM for his success. Maybe Mom and Dad could take a little credit, too!
November 28, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted November 28, 2015
- a school leader
From the head of the school to every teacher and student, there is a genuine concern for each others well being. Prayer is an integral part of our school.

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted November 28, 2015
- a school leader
We have a Virtues program. Older students lead the younger ones in developing Christian virtues.


The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori
no rating

Posted November 28, 2015
- a school leader
My son, a graduate of The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori, is getting all A's in his high school religion class. He says he doesn't even need to study for the quizzes and credits the Atrium - religion class -at GSCM for his success. Maybe Mom and Dad could take a little credit, too!

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 28, 2015
- a school leader
My 11 year old daughter remarked recently about how comfortable she felt in talking to Mr. Teller, the founder of our school, who is her religion teacher. She said that he is a father figure to her and that makes sense because she has seen him just about every school day for 12 years starting when we dropped her older brother off for school. Mr. Teller would greet every child by name as he shook hands with them. A lovely start to a wonderful day at The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori.

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
My son only had the privilege of attending this school for one year before my husband's company relocated us. To this day my son considers this one year the best of all his years of school, including international schools. The grade 4-6 teachers (who are still there) are kind, patient, encouraging, and inspiring. This school is most definitely a true gem.


The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful. When I see the way my children are being taught here and the breadth of knowledge and experience they are receiving, I am amazed. Even in 2nd and 3rd grade, they are learning things I didn't know about until 5th or 6th grade! The multi-age classrooms have also given them the chance to act as leaders toward the younger students and they love that role. They also have a deep understanding of Faith that I never got from traditional religion class. I never knew kids could work so hard and love it at the same time.

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
I feel so blessed that my children attend this wonderful school. They love to learn, love exploring the beautiful campus and love their teachers. I only wish I had know about this school when my oldest child was starting preschool! (On the plus side, at least they can all stay here through 8th grade.) This school sees each of my 3 very different children as an individual and allows them to learn at their own pace -- such a joy for me as a Mom! And I know it's a small thing, but I love that the Principal greets the students with a handshake and friendly smile each morning as they enter school. What a great way to start the day!

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted November 16, 2013
- a teacher
While most little children love going to school, ours is unique in that the students keep their love of learning through the upper grades. Montessori education fosters this connection by involving the whole child, body and mind. GSCM goes further by restoring Montessori philosophy to its true Catholic context, creating a place of peace and beauty where a child can grow physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.


The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a parent
We have two children attending the Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The teachers are passionate about the Montessori philosophy. My children are receiving an education that is highly individualized and academically rigorous. The Montessori philosophy combined with the faith-based education truly serves the whole child. The principal is approachable and visible. He meets students (& parents) at the door each morning with a handshake and greets them by name. Parents are highly involved with every aspect of the school. We love being part of The Good Shepherd community.

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
Outstanding quality of education for the price. Recommended to all families looking whose goal is to have their children love to learn, become independent and life-long learn ears in a noncompetitive environment. One of the best Montessori programs in Cincinnati. The school is small, and the building is simple, but at this school it is not about what is on the outside, but what's on the inside that counts. Because classes are not given traditional a-f grades, there is less pressure on kids, higher academic self esteem (where the focus is on reaching your own potential, not a universal standard,) and more intrinsic motivation. Multiple-age classroom also allow greater flexibility for kids working at their own pace while fostering a better social environment where friendships are not based on an age group. Also, we are not Catholic, but have felt very welcome and included. The peaceful, Godly environment has been a great benefit for our children. A very loving environment and excellent price. The principal is highly visible and involved with students, and greets every child with a handshake each morning. Better than most school where the principal stays in her office all day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori
4460 Berwick Street, Cincinnati, OH  45227
(513) 271-4171
Last modified The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Good Shepherd Catholic Montessori Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top