Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverview East Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
I think several teachers are very ineffective. There are a couple teachers I know of though that are quite effective and do help learning. The other teachers though barely help with anything. I know of a teacher who just puts on videos for his class all day and gives them a paper with questions. I know of another class where the teacher just gives you a chem book and tells you to answer the questions in it. So for the most part, very ineffective.

Riverview East Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
Barely any homework. They probably don't give out to much though because most kids take days to do it and are really lazy about it and don't care about it.


Riverview East Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
No, barely half of the seniors in the school graduate. Few teachers stay after school to help their students academically. There are no incentives to students who are actually good and hard working. The school just focuses on the bad ones who don't care about anything. If you get A honors the school gives you a coupon for Domino's to get a free small pizza and that is it, and you have to go to a specific Domono's. Not even one that you live close to. Almost all the students fail in this school. Kids graduate who shouldn't even be graduating.

Riverview East Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
This school does not respect its students. They force them to wear uniforms and won't even let the students change their class schedule to what they are comfortable with.

Riverview East Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
The student body has fights and drugs in it. No one ever actually gets expelled. This is not a good school when they don't even get rid of the bad students who like to cause trouble.


Riverview East Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
No, I do not. I feel that the staff is bad. The teachers are decent but many of the people in the school don't help. Few teachers actually like to help their students and stay after school with them.

Riverview East Academy 1

Posted August 16, 2015
- a student
As a student at Riverview East Academy, I have to say this school is just terrible. They force their students to wear uniforms. Which isn't to bad, but what goes inside the school is terrible. The staff at the school is okay. There are some good teachers and staff. The counselor at the school is no good though. Its rare for her to actually help. The student body has a drug epidemic going on in it. The school has several fights. I have never even heard of a kid actually being expelled from Riverview East Academy. I guess what expelled means is suspension. The inside of the school isn't much better. It's not very clean and just looks ghetto. If you want your child to have a good high school experience I would send them to a different school. Walnut is the best option in the district but there are other good choices as well.

Riverview East Academy 1

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
Riverview East has been a disappointment. They say they want parent participation and feedback, but when you try to work with the issues with them, it is not easily accepted. We had a situation where the school not only didn't deliver notes to parents via daily notes,and did not follow through with behavior plans, that their school wrote! My chils is on an IEP and this disorganization was unacceptable, particularly when I tried to, politely, communicate with school. It seems as though you have to be loud and rude to get anything done these days. They are clearly more interested with pushing students through curriculum to get them on to next grade, and in meantime the misbehavore get the attention from the staff.where is the quality education and informing parents of options for their kids? I was FLOORED by an email survey from superintendent asking did we know as a charter and within CPS limits, they are to provide bussing? We were told no. Also told no on accelerated classes as option, Ohio Dept Of Ed says differently. If parents only knew what right they had, maybe a lot more would care to participate in school more and not write it off as a it's not worth caring type of thing.


Riverview East Academy
no rating

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
Riverview East Academy has an excellent after school prpgram. My daughter enjoyed the school more because of thier afterschool programs. Good job Riverview!

Nearby schools

Riverview East Academy
3555 Kellogg Ave, Cincinnati, OH  45226
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (513) 363-3400
Last modified Riverview East Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top