Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,019 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Seven Hills School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
I recently had a chance to sit in on the 2nd grade class in Math Lab. They were building bridges and using concepts learned in class about structure, form, and architecture. They used designated materials (e.g. paper towel rolls, foam board, tape) and had to meet specific criteria to have a successful bridge. One criteria was to be able to hold 6 pounds. The excitement to see if a bridge would hold was amazing. Even more amazing was to watch what happened if a bridge did not hold. There was disappointment by its builders but the others in the group only offered encouragement and ideas on how to make it work. Not one student laughed or made the group feel badly that their bridge fell. They were there as a group to support each other and to learn from each other. I wish more parents could have experienced this very proud moment.

The Seven Hills School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
As parents, we love Seven Hills "Seven Values" – • pursuit of excellence • respect for others and appreciation of diversity • kindness, caring, and compassion • honesty and integrity • fairness and justice • personal responsibility and accountability • commitment to community As parents of a student at Seven Hills, we see them practiced daily in and out of the classrooms; on the playing fields and courts; during field trips. Seven Hills' character education is relevant and intentional, from use of the kindness tree in the early childhood program and the Buddy program in the Lower School. My friends of students in the Middle School are always amazed at the way the students come together to help others in our neighboring communities through MEAC, The Caring Place, and many others. Kindness is practiced daily at Seven Hills.


The Seven Hills School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
During a recent trip to the Cincinnati Nature Center, my son participated in a Monarch Olympics event designed to address the issue of the Milkweed plant shortage. It didn't take long for my son to engage in a conversation about the Monarch migration, where it begins, where it ends, and how the short lives of these unique butterflies affect the world ecology. I have no doubt that these moments are a direct reflection of the quality of academic care applied in each lesson at The Seven Hills School. My son's teachers are knowledgeable and caring. Daily, they work to make sure their lessons are relevant and engaging. It is neat to see this learning take place inside the classroom. It's a special gift, however, to see our Seven Hills students apply their knowledge in their own ways, on their own time, outside of the classroom.

The Seven Hills School 5

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
During a recent trip to the Cincinnati Nature Center, my son participated in a Monarch Olympics event designed to address the issue of the Milkweed plant shortage. It didn't take long for my son to engage in a conversation about the Monarch migration, where it begins, where it ends, and how the short lives of these unique butterflies affect the world ecology. I have no doubt that these moments are a direct reflection of the quality of academic care applied in each lesson at The Seven Hills School. My son's teachers are knowledgeable and caring. Daily, they work to make sure their lessons are relevant and engaging. It is neat to see this learning take place inside the classroom. It's a special gift, however, to see our Seven Hills students apply their knowledge in their own ways, on their own time, outside of the classroom.

The Seven Hills School 5

Posted November 11, 2015
- a parent
We are so pleased with the experience we have had at Seven Hills. Our children are very different form each other and both have thrived due to the school's focus on each child's strengths and challenges. The faculty's passion for their students helps the students identify their passions!


The Seven Hills School 3

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
This school may count as one of the best in Cincinnati, but like everything else that's the best in Cincinnati it would be mediocre anywhere else. Just look at where the graduates end up and count the number that go to the University of Cincinnati, a third-rate school. Tells you everything you need to know.

The Seven Hills School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Like everywhere else, it varies. There are great teachers and there are people who shouldn't be there.

The Seven Hills School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Don't know about other schools so can't compare. But the fact that they expect the parents to come up with their own daily math homework for first graders is ridiculous.


The Seven Hills School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
I'm of the opinion that Kindergarteners shouldn't have much homework. And I probably wouldn't have cared as much if she were taught to read, but again, homework about Greek gods and the different planets seems like a bit much for that age.

The Seven Hills School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter, who had dyslexia always felt put down by her teacher. Even with the small class size, she never got 1-1 help and was left behind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Seven Hills School
5400 Red Bank Road, Cincinnati, OH  45227
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (513) 728-2400
Last modified The Seven Hills School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top