Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holmes Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

I disagree with this sites rating on this school. This school will never be on the same level as Madeira, Indian Hill, or Sycamore. This district does not have the money to provide the type of teachers or programs theses other schools can. I am speaking from personal experience. this district so far is a big disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

the teachers are ok not great the principle is terrible! I have a child with learning disabilities and I have to argue with the staff to have them go the extra mile to help her. I also do not like that there is not one Black, Hispanic, or Asian teacher in the whole district where is the ethnicity?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

The teachers at this school are amazing. However, the classrooms are overcrowded. There aren't any preschool programs. My child has been there 2 years, Kindergarten and 1st grade and they haven't gone on one field trip. There aren't any options for students who are gifted until the 3rd grade, by then kids are aggravated and bored. I wouldn't recommend this district unless you want to see your child sit quietly for 6 hours and also sit quietly at lunch. They are rushed through their 30 minute lunch as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

I am so Happy to have my child in Deer Park Schools. We switched school district half way though the year and the staff and teachers were AMAZING. The children and parents were so nice and helpful! My family and I felt welcome into an amazing caring community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

My child will never go to this school. I recently went to the parent's kindergarten night and was not impressed. It's obvious that the failing school levy has drastically effected this school. They only offer 1/2 day kindergarten and this year the student-teacher ratio is 39-1. The principal and nurse commute to Holmes and Amity elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I have felt welcomed, supported, challenged and needed. As a parent it's important to feel we're in this together, all of us working towards a common goal; the success of my child. I would encourage the parents to be involved at whatever level possible. It truly is a partnership. I am constantly impressed by the individual support they have received in this district. Excellent leadership, teachers/staff and communication. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My oldest child is in Kindergarten at Holmes and we moved here specifically for the 'Excellent' school ratings in Deer Park. I may be new to this but I am very involved and have a great amount of trust in the principle and the teachers at Holmes. They strive to bring out the best in their students and each other. I was shocked to see the amount of schoolwork my child would bring home from in class and for homework, at first I didn't believe it was possible! I was so wrong! My child has learned more in her first year of school than any of us could begin to imagine! I have many thanks to give to everyone at Holmes for going above and beyond achieving excellence! There is always room for improvement but the parents need to be more involved if they want change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

Great schools, with great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

My son has learning disabilities and Holmes has been a great help. They make every effort to make proper adjustments for my son. The principal can be a little patronizing, but I think she means well. Teachers seem to take a personal interest in the kids. It's more than a job to them. My only gripes are outdated playground and cafeteria monitor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

I do not work at this school so I have no personal biases do the fact I am not part of this distric's staff. I have visited Kathy McKee's Homes School in the Deer Park Distric. The program she has at this school is excellent. From what I observed Kathy is engaged in a preventative program. She has special educators teaching in a regular classrom and is meeting the needs of kids who need it and preventing future problems for kids who have not yet run into trouble yet. What she is doing at this school is just wonderful. Although I might be somewhat biased, I have met Kathy at conferences, when I visited at her school I was very impressed! If you want your child to be reading this is definitely the school for your child! Kathy is a former special educator with a wonderful background.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female>=95%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial92%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial92%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
105 (2011)
 
102 (2010)
 
103 (2009)
 
102 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 74%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Black 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 12%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy L. Byrne
Fax number
  • (513) 891-3519

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8688 Donna Ln
Cincinnati, OH 45236
Phone: (513) 891-6662

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Linden Grove School
Cincinnati, OH






St. Nicholas Academy
Cincinnati, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT