Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Salem Christian Academy Elementary

Private | K-6 | 220 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Clayton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

SCA needs to create new policies. They always answer with "it's our policy". They never have a known answer to why certain things are in their policy. For example, children get in trouble for sneezing, having to use the bathroom and for being sick. If my child has to go to the bathroom, SHE HAS TO GO! Don't give her health problems by making her hold it in. Also, they don't let you drink water in class. Imagine your child dying of thirst and having their teacher tell you "water is not allowed in the classroom". They only have a few water breaks each day at certain times. Do not send your child to such an uncaring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I was totaly disappointed with SCA. I primary reason for sending our kids there was due to the Christian background and discipleship claimed by the schools administration. We were there two years and found the leadership unapprochable, the teachers did alot of nit-picking and very little encouragment toward our children and none of the teachers prayed with our children about issues of concern as was told to us when we toured. Only one teacher who left after our first year actually walked and taught the Christian values and boy did we miss her. Negative comments were made about our children by the office staff which I don't believe they thought we would find out. We prayed heavily about our children continued attendance and decided it was time to depart. It was only after we left did we get feedback from other parents, who withdrew before us, who had experience the same treatment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

SCA is AWESOME! 1 boy completed and another there. We couldn't imagine a better school for our boys. Thanks SO MUCH for the TOTAL DEDICATION by all the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

This school totally MISREPRESENTS itself as a christian school. It is more like a public school with christian elements thrown in for good measure. They profess great faith and expectations of Godly like character from their students yet they tolerate bullying and fail to discipline or weed out the bad elements in the school. My child encountered repeated bullying from the same children year after year yet they were never disciplined beyond a talking to. The blatant disregard of authority from these children was astounding. Not to mention the lack of integrity from the principal and staff when following there own disciplinary policies. The associate principal even went so far as to lie to me when confronted with a situation that happened regarding my child. I know of several parents who have had the same things follow their child year after year as the principal chooses to look the other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I have 4 children, 3 of which have gone to, or are currently attending SCA. I love the school and all they have to offer us as a family. The school does expect more parent involvement than your average public school which helps to keep us informed at home of my child's progress and their weaknesses. Again I have 4 children, I work part-time and go to school myself full-time so my time is limited but the school has still kept me involved and aware of how my children are doing academically. If you want to send your children to school and not be involved in their academic progress until report cards come home, this school is not for you. But if you want a school that is built around the family as well as it's students this is your school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My son went to Pre-K and K at SCA and my wife and I were not real impressed with the classroom participation and cirriculum. At the end of the year they sent several books home with him and told us they didn't get to those and we needed to teach them at home. What did we pay them for? We moved him to a different private school for 1st grade and parents followed their children around for the first day. I was embarrassed at how far behind my son was. Thankfully with his new schools sincere commitment to education and tutoring, he was up to speed in a few months. Very dissappointed in SCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

My daughter has attended SCA since Kindergarten, and is now entering 3rd grade. Overall we have been very happy with her quality of education. Teachers are very caring, and while they expect the students to work on their own, they are available for help. They expect a high standard from the kids, and the majority of the kids rise to that standard. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Two of my three children have attended Salem Christian from preschool on up. We now have a 2nd grader and a 5th grader that attend this school. Like all schools, we have encountered some issues but overall my family has been so incredibly blessed to be a part of SCA. I love knowing that my children are surrounded by those who love the Lord and truly love my children. Academically and spiritually our children have been challenged to grow and we know so much of who they are has come from the surroundings found at SCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I love SCA. My daughter has attended SCA for the past 3 years and we have nothing but good things to say about it. She is much more advanced then her friends that attend other schools. The kids are challenged with their school work and the teachers / administration are great! I wish they went past the 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Our kids have been at Salem for three years and we have only positive things to say about the experience. Yes, the homework is challenging but it helps us as parents to know how our kids are doing. We would recommend SCA to anyone who is looking for a smaller, more personal school where students are challenged and where prayer and lessons in moral character and leadership are daily activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

SCA use to be a wonderful school till it changed principals. The homework is very demanding and the teachers do not help them at all. They can not talk nor ask questions. The afterschool care is a free for all and no one to help the children with homework, no tutors, nothing for the children but a big jungle jim. Avoid this school if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

this school is the best school I have found I went to alot of schools and didn't find one like this Salem Christian academy has wonderful music art gym and computer classes it gives my kids a wonderful education and my kids love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2006

My children have attended SCA for 3 years now. Classroom involvement is not encouraged other than field trips. I love the facility, but, not impressed with teacher quality and how teachers work with the kids. The afterschool program is a jungle gym, nothing organized and you are charged a premium. JWA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

So far three of our four children have passed through Salem. It has been nothing short of a wonderful experience. The leadership is top notch and the teachers are dedicated. It's great to have such a wonderful school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Good School, no lunch room so children must pack a lunch every day. School is strong academically but weak in sports (no programs) and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 77%
Black 32% 19%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rev. Timothy E. Kegley
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • YMCA activities on campus
Girls sports
  • YMCA activities on campus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parent volunteer program- classroom and computer lab help, kindergarten center day, etc.
More from this school
  • SCA has a high expectations of our students in their academics and classroom and peer relationship behaviors.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Northmont
Brookville
Trotwood

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Northmont
Troy Christian
Dayton Christian
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 Southway Rd
Clayton, OH 45315
Website: Click here
Phone: (937) 836-9910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT